We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see resort - nothing like it!”
Review of Chesnut Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chesnut Bay Resort
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must see resort - nothing like it!”
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We are so excited that we discovery Chesnut Bay. My wife and I went with our two young kids for Thanksgiving and had the time of our lives. It is so much to do on the resort and in the surrounding towns even in the winter time. We returned in January to enjoy the snowfall and we look forward to coming back during the summer session. The drive from New Orleans is very manageable. And finally the managment staff is the best we've ever experienced. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toddheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    10
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
43
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florence, MS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

We traveled as an extended family, cousins family, mother-in-law and my family ranging in age from 2 to 65. The property was great. Everyone enjoyed the stay and didn't want to leave. The one problem we had was the maximum capacity rules. We went with two extra than the house allotted intending on the 6 and 7 year old would sleep on air matrices. Upon arrival we were told that was not allowed. I understand not going over the limit of adults but a 6 and 7 year old! We loved it so much we booked again for next year, but we don't know what we are going to do for next year. We got a bigger place but are still over the max if everyone goes. REALLY don't see the point of renting another house just because kids have to sleep on the floor.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bejolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, Manager at Chesnut Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2015
We would first like to thank you and your family for staying at Chesnut Bay Resort and thank you for rebooking. I am very sorry fro the confusion on the max occupancy rule we try our best to make sure this doesn't happen. We have this info in the home details on our web site also when you receive an invoice from Chesnut Bay. We have a partnership with the home owner at the resort and have assured the that we will not over occupy there home. We also do not count any children who are under the age of 4 towards the maximum occupancy. It is difficult to always strike the right balance of fairness between our guest and our home owners but we do try our best. Thanks again valued customer.

George Fox
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham al
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2010

The resort is new and very well thought out. The views of the lake are fabulous and the amenities exceeded my expectation. The prices on the rental homes are very reasonable. I recommend this resort to any couple, family, or group. There is also a chapel on site for weddings. I have never been so pleasantly surprised and can't wait to go back. Mentone and Little River Canyon are very close by, as are Chattanooga and Fort Payne. You need to see this for yourself.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bethjmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Back at Chesnut Bay resort again for a long weekend. Very peaceful in the off season and the crappie fishing was great. Though there are not a lot of activites in the off season, we still had a great time just chillin, taking our time doing nothing. Not sure if it still going on but they were having a 3 nights for the price of 2 special. Stayed in House 54

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ridetobefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

This is the greatest vacation within an 1hr 45 mins drive from Atlanta,Birmingham,. My family loves this place. The amenities are spectacular with tennis, a gym, playgrounds for the kids, two pools,near by golf courses, and lots of great place to visit and things to do.

Check out the website:www.chesnutbayresort.com

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank kammon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Our group stayed at Chestnut Bay in September of last year for the first time, it was recommended to us by the folks at True Adventure Sports who put together a caving adventure for as a team building activity. This year we begged to go back and actually did our team building right there on the "beach" at Chestnut Bay. The staff is great, the houses are so nice, we had 6 right on the lake for both stays, clean, comfortable and fully equiped. You can't beat sitting on the dock or on one of the balconies watching the sun come up in the morning -- so relaxing. We hope that we will be able to go back again and again.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeeves12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

This was a beautiful place and a big change of pace from the life back home. We loved the community... the staff were friendly. We stayed in home #24 and the balcony lake views were awesome. This was a wonderful experience from beginning to end. In fact, we didn't want to leave. We would highly recommend Chesnut Bay it was a blast.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southernaccent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chesnut Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesnut Bay Resort

Property: Chesnut Bay Resort
Address: 4480 County Road 44, Leesburg, AL 35983-4818
Location: United States > Alabama > Leesburg
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a fun family resort with 36 Homes and 17 RV sites 2 pools, water slides, beach, basketball/tennis court putt putt,zip line, scheduled events, and much more. Chesnut Bay Resort is Located 1 hour north of Birmingham Alabama on beautiful Weiss Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Chesnut Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesnut Bay Hotel Leesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing