We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Haven”
Review of Chesnut Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chesnut Bay Resort
Reviewed November 14, 2009

This is the greatest vacation within an 1hr 45 mins drive from Atlanta,Birmingham,. My family loves this place. The amenities are spectacular with tennis, a gym, playgrounds for the kids, two pools,near by golf courses, and lots of great place to visit and things to do.

Check out the website:www.chesnutbayresort.com

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
2  Thank kammon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 58 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2009

Our group stayed at Chestnut Bay in September of last year for the first time, it was recommended to us by the folks at True Adventure Sports who put together a caving adventure for as a team building activity. This year we begged to go back and actually did our team building right there on the "beach" at Chestnut Bay. The staff is great, the houses are so nice, we had 6 right on the lake for both stays, clean, comfortable and fully equiped. You can't beat sitting on the dock or on one of the balconies watching the sun come up in the morning -- so relaxing. We hope that we will be able to go back again and again.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
2  Thank Jeeves12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

This was a beautiful place and a big change of pace from the life back home. We loved the community... the staff were friendly. We stayed in home #24 and the balcony lake views were awesome. This was a wonderful experience from beginning to end. In fact, we didn't want to leave. We would highly recommend Chesnut Bay it was a blast.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank southernaccent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We haved stayed at Chesnut Bay for years, but this year was not so good.
1. They did not have our room ready at the check in time.
2. The carpet was saturated with dog hair. We have an 8 month
and she was covered in dog hair.
3. T V cable was loose & would not tighten.
4. Squirrels and birds in the attic, could not sleep for noise.
5. Reported problems, baby taken home 2 days early, rest of
family left a day earlier.
6. No offer of refund of day lost.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank cowboypapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We went to Leesburg to visit family and needed some extra room. We didn't have enough time to do it all. There were fireworks and tenniscourts and mega slides, movies in the eve. The property was immaculate. We stayed in the blue house, views of the lake from most of the rooms.
All in all it was an excellent value and quite a spread of activities.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lofloroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Truly a fabulous place for families to vacation! Nothing in the resort is over 3 years old, and all are maintained very well. "Children come first" seems to be the motto at Chestnut Bay, and parents can feel comfortable allowing their kids a bit of freedom. Because we extended our stay we wound up renting two homes, and both were exceptional in different ways. The staff is always helpful, but unobtrusive, and check-in and check-out is painless. The on-site store is convenient for minor needs. This is our second year, and we are begining to favor Chestnut Bay over previous destinations in Florida.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dvinmsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2007

I found the website for this resort while researching the longest yard sale for the first week-end in August. It looked perfect on the website, but you are always a little leery when not knowing much about a property. Well let me say, this place was a true gem. We rented a three bedroom, two bath home #17. It was perfect for my family of three and my parents. There is a full kitchen with dishwasher and washer and dryer, a full size living area and three good size bedrooms. The deck looks out to the mountains and the lake. A full-size swimming pool and lake with activities such as fishing, trampoline, peddle boats, kayaks, and a huge slide are included. Excellent value for the price--probably the nicest place to stay in that area of Alabama. The only negative is trying to find the place in the dark. There are a lot of dark country roads that you must use to travel to this place. Once you get the hang of the country roads, travel is easy to neighboring towns. Will definitely visit this place again!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busedteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chesnut Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesnut Bay Resort

Address: 4480 County Road 44, Leesburg, AL 35983-4818
Location: United States > Alabama > Leesburg
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Leesburg
Price Range: $75 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a fun family resort with 36 Homes and 17 RV sites 2 pools, water slides, beach, basketball/tennis court putt putt,zip line, scheduled events, and much more. Chesnut Bay Resort is Located 1 hour north of Birmingham Alabama on beautiful Weiss Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Chesnut Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesnut Bay Hotel Leesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing