We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Weekend with Friends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Secret Bed and Breakfast Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Secret Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Leesburg B&B and Inns
Florence, Alabama
Level Contributor
1 review
“Relaxing Weekend with Friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful weekend, with fifteen other friends, at this amazing place! Kris and Charlie were the perfect hosts and made us all feel just like family. The delicious breakfasts that they prepared and served each morning were the perfect way to start the day. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and maintained and the views from the pool are breathtaking! There are the four lodge rooms, as well as four individual, unique, cabins. We stayed in one of the four lodge rooms and it was very comfortable and quiet. We can't wait to return! If you're looking for a tanquil, relaxing weekend in a peaceful setting.....you've found the place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniferaston118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    14
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
60
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
BirminghamAL
Level Contributor
274 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I started our honeymoon some years ago in the Nautical Cabin. We loved it then and even more this time. It is probably one of the most romantic spots in Alabama. As shown in our pictures, it is situated next to the "Treehouse" and is the largest of their cabins. The kitchen area comes fully equipped with all of the dishes necessary to fix a meal, and even has a dishwasher that makes cleanup easier. The bed is extremely comfortable, as is the furniture in the living room area. The large flat-screened TV is hooked to a satellite so there are plenty of channels to choose from if desired. It has a separate full bath with a tub/shower combination, and a Jacuzzi which has plenty of hot water. The cabin was spotless.

We spent a lot of time lounging by the roof-top pool that is over their carport. Breakfast was extremely good, especially the biscuits. Charlie and Kris make wonderful hosts.

When we arrived they were breaking down from a wedding the day before. The outside location overlooking the lake would make a memorable spot.

The only thing wrong was that our time there was too short.

Room Tip: The Nautical is the largest of the cabins. The web page's pictures are accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTravelingOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We went to The Secret this past weekend after discovering it on Absolutely Alabama. We loved it & recommend it highly. Kris & Charlie make you feel like family & the food is wonderful. We stayed in the "jail" & are loving telling friends we spent the weekend in jail. We have already booked a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I went up for the weekend by myself ... just needed a getaway in the middle of some stressful times ... and it was absolutely perfect! The view is stunning, the grounds are beautiful, the lodge and rooms are nice and well-kept, and the hospitality of Kris and Charlie made it such a great experience. I wish I could've stayed a lot longer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We WILL return....either with friends are just the 2 of us!
We had been told by former guests we would not be dissapointed, and were not!!
By request, the Thomas' prepared a delicious meal the last night we were there.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Lodge are convenient, as to not having to walk from cabins to breakfast. All cabins ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Friskytravelers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirminghamAL
Level Contributor
274 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We are return visitors and I'm glad we did! We don’t know exactly how long since Kris and Charlie became the owners but they make it the warm wonderful place it has always been. There is an "air" about this place that makes you feel like you're at home. Maybe it is the huge circular table that we all sat around for breakfast, or the friendliness of the innkeepers. They were available if you needed them, but gave you the privacy and peace that you come to the Secret to get. Both obviously care about their guests. The only thing bad about my weekend was forgetting my camera.

This is a unique B&B in that the main lodge has the HUGE great room with fireplace and dining area, plus four rooms upstairs for guests. There are four unique cottages just a short distance from the lodge with their own individual and unique styles. We've stayed in the Nautical and would love to stay in it again. Part of what makes this Lodge so nice is Its location atop the mountain with views of Weiss Lake on three sides (and Leesburg). It is situated about 1/2 mile off the two lane highway and is extremely quiet. We couldn't hear anything in our room from outside, or from our neighbors in the next room.

We stayed in the Tranquility Room this trip (first room on the right at the top of the stairs). It has one of the most wonderful views out of the sliding glass doors in the world. The room has a balcony that goes to the rooftop pool (bit chilly for use this time of year). The morning sun over the lakes and valley is a sight to behold. You might find the bathroom a bit small, but it is clean and has plenty of hot water. The antique furniture gave the room an ambience that we both loved, and the heater/AC kept the room the temperature you set it. Breakfast was great both days we were there.

They have one of the most extensive collections of VCR and DVD movie collections I've seen. Our room had a small flat screened TV, DirecTV, and a combination VCR/DVD player.

We took a day trip to Mintone, AL on Saturday through Alabama's "Little River Canyon." I can understand why they call it a small Grand Canyon; and, Little River Falls a small version of Niagra Falls. These are just one of the many things available just a distance from the Lodge (including the Unclaimed Freight Store in Scottsboro). There are also several very good restaurants and a Walmart a short distance away.

We look forward to coming back here. It is a perfect place for a couple that wants to get away for a nice time of "refreshment" and the cares of the world for a while. Thank you Kris and Charlie for continuing with this tradition.

We noticed something new: one of the couples there for the weekend was booking the entire lodge for their small wedding. I couldn’t help but think: what a perfect location.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lake side of the lodge are worth the extra to get the view. The four cottages have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveTravelingOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Secret Bed and Breakfast lodge is situated at one of the highest points in Alabama and the views are superb. This in itself would be worth stopping for but the comfortable accommodation, good breakfast and friendly welcome from hosts Kris and Charlie, make this an experience to highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotinamerica10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leesburg
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Of Centre
Days Inn Of Centre
#1 of 2 in Centre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
16.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Secret Bed and Breakfast Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Bed and Breakfast Lodge

Property: The Secret Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Address: 2356 Al Highway 68 W, Leesburg, AL 35983-4000
Location: United States > Alabama > Leesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Leesburg
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Secret b&b Lodge
The Secret Hotel Leesburg
Secret Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing