We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Smells Like a Smoke House” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Leeds
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Smells Like a Smoke House”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This hotel is very old. The exterior walls have been renovated but the interior of the hotel is very old. This is very noticeable as soon as you enter the hotel.

As you enter the hotel the smell of cigarette smoke is very strong - though it states that it is a "Non-Smoking" facility. There are non-smoking signs along the hallway, but this place reeks of cigarette smoke.

The room, though old, was very clean and the breakfast was decent. Somehow you become immune to the smell overnight.

Room Tip: "Choose another hotel"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NC_Traveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vee F, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
On behalf of the hotel staff & management we apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay. Although we do have signs in the public areas as well as posted on certain rooms that indicate nonsmoking, at this time we still offer smoking rooms. We will be doing a complete renovation of the hotel and once finished, the entire hotel will smoke-free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    5
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
7
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is clean but very outdated, It's ok for one or two nights but its a little small for more,Its cheap and needs an update, the room (207) was small,dated, but clean. Ive stayed in a lot of nicer places, If you dont care much for modernization you might like it. Lastly their breakfast is well, not so good the area is quite tight and the food wasnt that great. So I would recommend driving on one more exit or two to The Hampton Inn its a lot nicer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vee F, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us because we do value your opinion. We understand your concerns with the decor of our property which is why we will be starting a renovation of the complete property soon that will be more updated. Once completed, we hope for a more enjoyable experience for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Check-in was fairly easy, price ok, desk clerk could have been a little more helpful. Got to room and it could really use an update. Wallpaper peeling, paint peeling, door lock broken, just worn and rough. Breakfast was very tasty with a real good selection. Next time if not remodeled will probably stay at the Best Western next door.

Room Tip: Restaurants very close and handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Out_of_towner448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vee F, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
On behalf of our staff and managemnet we apologize if your stay with us was not a good experience. Hopefully you will give us another chance in the future to change your mind about our property. We strive for ecellence in all aspects of our service and sincerely apoligze that we failed to meet your expectations. We in fact are in the process of getting ready to do a complete renovation to update everyting in hopes to make enjoyable stays for our guests. Thank you for your review. Your comments are valued and appreciated because they help us make improvements where needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleby-in-Westmorland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

After reading some of scathing reviews of this place we were a bit apprehensive. Turned out to be a perfectly acceptable place to stop for two nights on a road trip through the south. The suite (ground floor) was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff could not have been more helpful. These "hot breakfasts" are always a bit of a disappointment wherever you go, so we just stick to the cereals, breads and coffee which were absolutely fine - eating area was clean and well supervised. If you want a real breakfast you can walk 100 yeards to a Cracker Barrel. For our dinner we walked to the Logan's Roadhouse which is adjacent to the hotel. Yes, the hotel is a little dated and we were not keen on the smell of tobacco in the corridor (there are some smoking rooms), but it was a handy stop over to explore Birmingham and we had no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyBoomerCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This place should be stripped of a Comfort Inn license!!! The place is really ran down and needs major work, Breakfast is okay but all else is terrible and price is way to much for what you get!!!!!! The Best Western next doors is a lot better deal.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randyhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leeds hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Do not stop at this hotel. The rooms are old, beat up and dirty. Cookie crumbs all over the carpet, stained bed spreads, and dirty shower/bath stalls. The people are nice and the breakfast was fine. The pool was clean but right on the interstate with no sound wall around.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma, AL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Nice clean rooms in a quiet, convenient place away from all the noise and traffic, but only minutes away from restaurants and local shopping. We stayed there near Halloween while going to Atrox. It was so convenient and only minutes away. Staff was friendly and rooms were clean. Will definitely go back whenever in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckwiltbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leeds
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Leeds, AL
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bass Hotel & Suites
11.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Birmingham - Irondale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#46 of 81 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
16.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Fultondale
Comfort Suites Fultondale
#7 of 7 in Fultondale
3.5 of 5 stars 4 reviews
7.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Trussville
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 1951 Village Dr, Leeds, AL 35094-1133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Leeds
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeds Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing