We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Bass Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great find!!”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

When I hear the name "Best Western" I tend to think old, run down ect, but this was a great hotel! We were traveling and wanted to stop halfway to our destination which was Leeds, AL. There are only 5 hotels I could find in Leeds. After reading the reviews I picked this one because It was right off I-20 and it had good reviews! I was not disappointed!!!! The room was updated. Carpet was in great shape. Furniture was cute and in perfect condition. The towels were nice and thick. The bed was awesome!! The breakfast bar was good ie fruit, eggs, sausage patties, waffles, cereal, pastries, biscuits plus coffee, milk and juice choices. Last but not least the hotel as a whole was very clean. I could not find anything that I can complain about. I most definitely will stay here again!! The price was great too!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Destinbeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    45
    27
    11
    9
See reviews for
77
37
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sandusky, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed at the Best Western, Leeds for one night (Thursday to Friday). Room was good sized. Furnishings were dated. A "REBATH" job was done in the bathroom. It looked OK. If you do stay here make sure you get a room NOT facing 1-20. Road noise was bad during the night. Morning Breakfast was a OK.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radar78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

I have spent several nights in this hotel over the past few weeks as I have recently transferred to Birmingham. The hotel is fairly new and is very clean. The staff is great and goes out of their way to accomodate you. They even gave me a discount on Talladega weekend when a change in plans caused me to need my room for an extra night.

The breakfast is pretty good. It's not what you would get at breakfast buffet, but they do have bisquits, bagels, muffins, eggs, sausage, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, juice and coffee. Not great, but definitely better than many hotels.

It is in a great location and although it sits at the end of a dead end street, you have very easy access to I-20 (within about 2 minutes). There are several restaurants on the same street like: Milo's, Wendy's, Ruby Tuesday's, Cracker Barrel, Arby's and Waffle House. Walmart and several other restaurants are just across the interstate from the hotel.

The rooms that I have stayed in are very nice with a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, iron and ironing board in each room. The laundry facilities are some of the cheapest and best machines I've ever seen in a hotel. They machines are $1 for each use and one cycle has dried my clothes each time I've used it, even when I had a few pairs of jeans in the same load. The hotel also has an indoor pool that is a nice luxury as well.

I highly recommend this hotel especially given the number of hotels that I see on a monthly basis. Very nice and clean and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Book the room online and use the Internet rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dsimpson17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

While on a motorcycle trip, we stayed two nights at this hotel because we wanted to be close to the Barber Sports Museum and Talladega Race Track. My complaints are (room 123): a large amount of black ants came out of a hole by the bathtub. There was only one person on duty at the hotel and he gave me a can of Ant Spray to use. After I sprayed I took the can back and he was on the phone and appeared to be talking something personal rather than business. I pointed to the can and left it on the counter. He called later that evening and asked if I had taken care of it and if I had returned the can. The second day I asked the maid to only do the beds and towels. We returned later and the towels were done but not the beds and the maids were gone for the day. The indoor pool was cold but the jacuzzi was okay. The bottom of the refrigerator had a tray on the bottom full of water, defrosting? Would I stay here again, no. Especially not for the price. The only good thing was the windows are very thick and you could not hear the interstate traffic.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norme-ormond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NASC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Very nice motel located within walking distance to several restaurants and fast food establishments. It is located off of the interstate but very quiet. The desk clerk, Winston, was friendly and efficient. We asked for a king room and were upraded to a king suite. Huge! The room was very, very clean and the beds were comfortable. There was also a microwave and fridge in the room. Didn't take advantage of the pool or hot tub but did check them out. Both appeared to be very clean. The complimentary breakfast was sufficient but nothing outstanding. We will stop again should we find ourselves going through Birmingham in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outtagas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

I had reservations at this motel for over 8 months in anticipation of attending the first Indy Car Race at nearby Barbers Motorsports Park (a superb race track and museum). I made it through the Best Western website and had written confirmed reservations for a nonsmoking King Suite. When I called a day before departing to reconfirm, the receptiionist noted that the reservation was for a smoking room. I tried to correct this but was told that was the way it was as the motel was full. When I complained that I had written reservations in hand for months, Mark, the clerk, told me that he could not correct it.

Since both my wife and I have breathing problems in a smoky environment, I asked to speak to the manager, Glenda Jones, who said Best Western had made the mistake as that was the room reserved for me. I doubted the veracity of her excuse but she was unyielding and I told her to cancel my reservation and I would go find another motel down the interstate. Then she had the audacity to tell me I would have to pay for a night as the reservation called for 48 hour cancellation. (It did not, my BW reservation stated 4PM the day of arrival). When I tried to explain, she blamed it on BW. This was becoming very moronic so I called BW and they quickly corrected the problem and said Ms. Jones was in error and that they had opended a case file on the motel complaint.

Ms. Jones then called me and said she had just found a nonsmoking room for me. I told her I'd never stay at her motel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

We wanted to visit my mother in a senior facility and this was clearly the nicest hotel in the region. It was located right on the interstate, was nicely landscaped outside, had an indoor pool, a business room, a hot breakfast, and the room was well furnished with usual amenities. The owner and staff were friendly, polite, and helpful. There are several restaurants, fast food places, groceries and gas stations nearby.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leeds
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Leeds, AL
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Leeds
40 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Pell City
Comfort Suites Pell City
#2 of 5 in Pell City
100 reviews
14.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
12.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Bass Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Bass Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Bass Hotel & Suites
Address: 1949 Village Dr, Leeds, AL 35094-1133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Leeds
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Bass Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Bass Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Leeds
Leeds Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing