We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, not great”
Review of Super 8 Jasper

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Jasper
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Jasper
florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not bad, not great”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We were just passing through and looking for a place for the night. It was our best choice for what was available. The bed was horrible, but the bathroom was newly renovated with granite top, new tub surround and nice tile floor. The room was clean, but the free continental breakfast was disgusting. It looked like a makeshift breakfast area and didn't look very clean. I couldn't eat anything and just preferred to leave.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    44
    39
    36
    36
See reviews for
66
44
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The worst night stay we have ever had anywhere. There was some sort of alarm that went off every half hour. Then at 5am we where awakened by Cops right out side our door screaming "Freeze put your hand's in the air or I'll shoot" followed by a huge thump on our door... then we heard cops running around and screams of "black guy, black guy" we had small children that we moved away from the window because we didn't know what could happen next. So needless to say I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank souixie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Cascade, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2011

On a cross country trip we lodged here one night. Good stay. No issues except it's goofy location. Had to call the motel for directions. They were most helpful after a long day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank pjt236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

Arrived about 9pm, no reservation, looked to be fairly full because of a fishing tournament. The night clerk was very hospitable and accomodating, check in was quick.
The room decor was very nice, fancier than most Super 8s at which I've stayed.
The furnishings included 2 sitting chairs, microwave, mini-fridge, desk & chair. Everything was in good shape. Overall, the room was clean and well maintained. AC unit worked well. Bed was comfortable to me. Towels were new(er), soft and fluffy.

Location is somewhat off the beaten path. It is in town, along with other hotels...not on Hwy. 78, which is the main thoroughfare through that area (future I-22 according to signs posted along the way).

Super 8's web site states that there is truck/bus parking, usually that means there is a large parking lot. I only saw a curb-side space big enough for two large vehcles, but it was late night when I arrived, so *maybe* there was another area that I just didn't see.

A standard continental breakfast is available from 6-9am. It included a self-serve waffle maker. Donuts were fresh.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xtreme_traveler727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2009

If you find the Google Maps confusing (showing 2 different locations with the same address) you will find the written directions even more confusing. STAY ON HWY 78. DO NOT GET ON 118 COMING FROM MEMPHIS. CONTINUE ON 78 INTO JASPER. We found the room acceptable(?) AFTER we remade the bed. The king size lower full sheet was poorly tucked and required the guest to remake the bed or sleep on crumpled sheets and poorly fitting mattress pad. We found the room spacious enough and clean enough. A trucker parked his truck outside our room and left his refrigeration motor on until we called the front desk and complained. She seemed unconcerned and indicated nobody else had complained. I guess the problem is I like to sleep in motels.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lowerUStraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2009

Cheap rate, poor maintenance, soiled furniture, not the maid's fault, internet did not work. Generally a clean motel. Decent breakfast.

  • Liked — Nothing stands out
  • Disliked — non-working internet, toilet
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank newadvisor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2008

After not having read one complimentary review of this property it was with some trepidation that I checked in.
I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the rooms.
At $51.69 (including tax) I would say this was reasonbly priced.
All the reviews (from what I could see) are at least a couple of years old so I'm thinking they've made some improvements in the last couple of years.
The rooms are a decent size and were clean. The had many of the amenities that one would find in a more expensive property ie: microwave, fridge et al.
The breakfast is average for most Super 8s. Not a lot of variety but enough to get you going in the morning.
Unless I just happened to have got lucky and got a room that isn't the norm I would have to say I could recommend this property for most types of travellers.
Just as an aside...my paperwork mentioned that they don't take pets.

  • Liked — That it wasn't as bad as i was expecting
  • Disliked — The bed
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Ozcfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Jasper
83 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Jasper
Quality Inn Jasper
#6 of 9 in Jasper
87 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Jasper
Hampton Inn Jasper
#1 of 9 in Jasper
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 9 in Jasper
31 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Jasper
60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 9 in Jasper
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Jasper

Property: Super 8 Jasper
Address: 1287 Highway 78 W, Jasper, AL 35501-3658
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Jasper 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Super 8 Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Jasper Hotel Jasper
Super Eight Jasper
Jasper Super 8
Jasper Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing