We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here...if you can find it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Jasper

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Jasper
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Jasper
Cascade, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay here...if you can find it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

On a cross country trip we lodged here one night. Good stay. No issues except it's goofy location. Had to call the motel for directions. They were most helpful after a long day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank pjt236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    42
    34
    33
    29
See reviews for
58
38
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
chicago, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

Arrived about 9pm, no reservation, looked to be fairly full because of a fishing tournament. The night clerk was very hospitable and accomodating, check in was quick.
The room decor was very nice, fancier than most Super 8s at which I've stayed.
The furnishings included 2 sitting chairs, microwave, mini-fridge, desk & chair. Everything was in good shape. Overall, the room was clean and well maintained. AC unit worked well. Bed was comfortable to me. Towels were new(er), soft and fluffy.

Location is somewhat off the beaten path. It is in town, along with other hotels...not on Hwy. 78, which is the main thoroughfare through that area (future I-22 according to signs posted along the way).

Super 8's web site states that there is truck/bus parking, usually that means there is a large parking lot. I only saw a curb-side space big enough for two large vehcles, but it was late night when I arrived, so *maybe* there was another area that I just didn't see.

A standard continental breakfast is available from 6-9am. It included a self-serve waffle maker. Donuts were fresh.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xtreme_traveler727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2009

If you find the Google Maps confusing (showing 2 different locations with the same address) you will find the written directions even more confusing. STAY ON HWY 78. DO NOT GET ON 118 COMING FROM MEMPHIS. CONTINUE ON 78 INTO JASPER. We found the room acceptable(?) AFTER we remade the bed. The king size lower full sheet was poorly tucked and required the guest to remake the bed or sleep on crumpled sheets and poorly fitting mattress pad. We found the room spacious enough and clean enough. A trucker parked his truck outside our room and left his refrigeration motor on until we called the front desk and complained. She seemed unconcerned and indicated nobody else had complained. I guess the problem is I like to sleep in motels.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lowerUStraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jasper hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Dresden
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2009

Cheap rate, poor maintenance, soiled furniture, not the maid's fault, internet did not work. Generally a clean motel. Decent breakfast.

  • Liked — Nothing stands out
  • Disliked — non-working internet, toilet
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank newadvisor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler
Level Contributor
171 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2008

After not having read one complimentary review of this property it was with some trepidation that I checked in.
I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the rooms.
At $51.69 (including tax) I would say this was reasonbly priced.
All the reviews (from what I could see) are at least a couple of years old so I'm thinking they've made some improvements in the last couple of years.
The rooms are a decent size and were clean. The had many of the amenities that one would find in a more expensive property ie: microwave, fridge et al.
The breakfast is average for most Super 8s. Not a lot of variety but enough to get you going in the morning.
Unless I just happened to have got lucky and got a room that isn't the norm I would have to say I could recommend this property for most types of travellers.
Just as an aside...my paperwork mentioned that they don't take pets.

  • Liked — That it wasn't as bad as i was expecting
  • Disliked — The bed
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Ozcfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2006

We stayed one night at the Motel 8 in Jasper. Our room looked ok(but not as nice as other Motel 8's we have stayed in.) The bathroom had not been cleaned properly. The commode had yucky (?) stuff down the side of it. And and the seat was dirty . Also the ceiling had water stains. The walkways to the stairs were dirty and badly in need of paint. The headboard to the bed was broken off of our bed. A guy came to our door saying he was there to repair the headboard,but he was not employed by Motel 8. I told him to come back tomorrow after we checked out. We had also booked a room for my son, his wife and my daughter. They didnt see them until the next morning when they turned the light on-their room had roaches running every place!! I didnt see any in our room. Hopefully none of them took a ride home with us in our luggage. We have stayed in a lot of Motel 8's and this one is the worst we have ever seen. We will not stay in this Motel 8 again. I will say the staff was nice and there was plenty of hot water.

  • Liked — shower had hot water and good pressure
  • Disliked — dirty bathroom and roaches
  • Tips/Secrets — take the elevator-those steps are tiring going to the 4th floor!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank jeep2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2005

There were actally many things wrong with this motel. I will not be able to go in-depth about everyhting. The room was filthy from the bathroom to the bed. the pool looked dirty. The staff was rude. The water was cold. The Soda machine was broken. The Walkways were filthy. The room was tiny, and the furniture is very very old and huge for the size of the room. We planned to stay for 3 nights and we tried to check out 2 day early and the would not allow us to do so. We checked out anyways. Have filed a complaint with my credit card company. We stayed next door at a fairly priced and CLEAN place. Enjoyed our stay in Jasper. And will be back for Christmas next year.

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Jasper
Quality Inn Jasper
#6 of 9 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Jasper
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Jasper
Hampton Inn Jasper
#1 of 9 in Jasper
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 9 in Jasper
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 9 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Jasper

Property: Super 8 Jasper
Address: 1287 Highway 78 West, Jasper, AL 35501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Jasper 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Jasper Hotel Jasper
Super Eight Jasper
Jasper Super 8
Jasper Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing