We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite Date Night Spot”

Effina's Tuscan Grill
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Centre, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Favorite Date Night Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Staff is high-energy and very helpful. The food is just amazing. A very nice menu that you don't often see in the South. They also have a nice drink selection.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    47
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“As nice as Jacksonville gets.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

From what I understand, Effina's is Jacksonville's only "casual upscale" joint.

I have been MANY times. The food is always consistent. I am here on business a lot, and the atmosphere and vibe of Effina's is cheerful, and friendly.

I like a lot their calamari- however, when one travels, you can tell there is a stock frozen brand of calamari- so this is the same you will get at most commercial places- with tentacles, and rings.....however, it is always very good.

The beer is always in a cold glass. This is the only place within 30 miles that with every beer, I didn't have to asked over and over for a chilled glass.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston, Alabama
Level Contributor
118 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just like Covalli's, this is locally family owned and not a chain. Everything on the menu is great. Like most restaurants, this place gets crowded on weekends. There are a few tables and booths downstairs and more on an upstairs level. Also, being a college town, this place employs the college students. There is a very small bar area up front, as you enter, but generally, this is more restaurant than bar.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jimandlo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Alabama
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean restauarant & good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Effina's is a very clean, well-taken care of establishment. It seems it is under good management. I have eaten here many times and been very pleased with the taste, quality, and quantity of food, as well as the service.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
160 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Nice surprise in a small town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this small out-of-the-way gem. The service is attentive but not intrusive, the atmosphere is nice, and the food is very good.
The menu has a nice variety without being too large to navigate and the dishes are not all swimming in tomato sauce.
I have tried this place 3 different times within 2 weeks and was not disappointed.
If you are in the Jacksonville area, find this place a couple of blocks off the square toward the college - you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingBikerdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Effina's Tuscan Grill also viewed

 

Been to Effina's Tuscan Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing