We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was the worst!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Irondale
Summerville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This was the worst!”
Reviewed October 27, 2010

This is by far the worst Holiday Inn Express I have stayed in. The front desk clerk was very unprofessional. This location advertises hot coffee 24 hrs. The coffee was made that morning and we arrived at 5:30pm. Desk clerk was unaware if they even had coffee prepared, needless to say the coffee was not hot. We get to the room, large stains on the carpet, curtains smelled of dust, air conditioner was so noisy you couldn't hear television. We finally turned off the ac unit and it smelled of burnt hair. I have never stayed in a hotel/motel where you can hear the guest in the next room use the restroom as you could there. The parking lot was extremely dark. Contacted Holiday Inn and Gen Mgr of this location was to contact me, didn't happen. It is very over priced for what they offer. We were so upset with the room we let at 5:00am.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Menard81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaySmrtIrndale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. My name is Dave Mastroni and I am the new General Manager here at the property. We obviously could have done much better with your stay and will always look to improve the service when we fail to exceed guest expectations. I have addressed the issues with the appropriate departments and team members and feel confident the issues in regard to your stay have been resolved. If we can ever be of service when you are in the area again, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

At Your Service,

Dave Mastroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    45
    31
    12
    12
See reviews for
39
26
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We were on our last leg of our trip and happened to stumble upon this hotel while trying to find another one. I am glad we did! It had to queen beds, the room was clean, the pool was nice, the breakfast was superb, and the staff were super nice. I would definately make a point of staying here again if ever in the region. As a walk-in, they gave a great price for the room and the check-in lady was awesome (wish I could remember her name).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfpTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We arrived in the evening after making a reservation over the phone earlier the same day. My family and I were greeted warmly by the front desk staff. After checking in, we entered our room only to find the air on full blast, likely done in order to cover up the overpowering smell of air freshener masking a pungent cigarette smoke odor. The room did not look clean and the pillows smelled awful. We were on a nonsmoking floor specifically because I suffer from allergic reactions to smoke and my family member from chronic asthma. We requested another room, and the front desk staff was willing to try to assist us by recommending another hotel or offering two separate rooms, as no other rooms with two separate beds were available. Though these rooms were much better, we were greeted by a bug and a creaky bed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlSwear13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2010

Southern Hospitality at it's best !!!!! We came for the Talladega races and being right on I-20 we had perfect access to the track. What struck us though was the staff, James and Ashley and all were just super !!! These folks even kept the breakfast bar open 'till noon the Saturday the races were rained out !!! Nice to munch a cinnamon roll while watching it rain!!
Rooms were clean, comfortable, and fully functional in every way. Very clean grounds and sufficient parking too. All in all a pleasant experience !! Thanks guys and gals, we'll be back again !!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FASTLANEJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, KY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

The staff and the cleanliness of this hotel is the best I have visited in many years!
The staff at the desk and in the breakfast area are so helpful and friendly; they make you
feel like family!
It is only 2 miles to the EWTN property with only 1 traffic light! You receive a very
discounted rate if you let them know that you are a EWTN pilgrim.
The breakfast area was large and very clean. The nice lady working made many
of us bacon as a special request; so is so friendly and caring especially to elerly
people (like my 85-year-old mother who loved her)!

If I go back to the Birmingham area, I would DEFINITELY STAY at this hotel!
The beds are also very comfortable and well as the different types of pillows!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColdSpring_KYSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2010

Had a nice one-night stay at the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham-Irondale. It seemed like a newer property, so it was rather clean, with newer furniture, etc. The free continent breakfast was a nice touch. The beds were soft and the bathroom was also very clean.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoChik77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed two nights at the hotel after a family reunion about two hours away. On my first impression, the lobby is very clean and showed very tasteful decor. Staff at the reservations desk were very friendly and helpful, and very personable. Our room was very clean and also showed very tasteful decor. The bathroom contained the usual amenities and lots of towels. The bed sheets were soft and clean and the bed provided very comfortable sleeping conditions. The only thing missing in the room was a small refrigerator, but we were able to do without. Continental breakfast was pretty good, coffee and juices, pastries and even hot breakfast. And it varied each day. One morning I had a very simple cheese omelette and hot buiscuits. The next day I had scrambled eggs and bacon. Other breakfast items were also offered on each day (hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, toast, cereal,etc.) The hotel was reasonably priced, and I would gladly go back again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atauds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irondale
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#47 of 79 in Birmingham
75 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Birmingham - Irondale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
6.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
Address: 811 Old Grants Mill Rd, Irondale, AL 35210-1233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Irondale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Irondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Birmingham East-Irondale, where you'll find comfort and luxury meeting side by side. The Holiday Inn Express is located I-20 at exit 133 by I-459 exit 27. Our hotel is here to provide you with a refreshing atmosphere! We offer a free Express Start breakfast featuring at least two hot items daily! Don't forget to try our delicious cinnamon rolls! Our well-appointed guest rooms feature our new Stay Smart bedding with triple sheeting. Each of our suites has a pullout sleeper sofa, microwave and mini-fridge. Each room has a curved shower rod and Kohler Stay Smart shower head. We offer services such as: free airport shuttle service from 5 AM to 11PM, free high-speed Internet access, on-site fitness and business centers, outdoor swimming pool and spacious meeting rooms. Irondale is the ideal destination for the corporate traveler with Birmingham Airport, Honda of Alabama, UAB, Imaging Business Machine and Trinity Hospital all right in our backyard! Need a fun and convenient get-away with out being in the middle of the hustle and bustle of downtown? Be sure to visit the Irondale Café, Barbers Motor Sports, Talladega Super Speedway, BJCC, Birmingham Civil Rights Institute, Bass Pro Shop and Vulcan Park while in Birmingham! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is a favorite for business travelers and families who are visiting the Birmingham area. Let us prove to be your favorite too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Irondale
Holiday Inn Irondale
Irondale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing