We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another nice HI Express”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Irondale
Avondale, Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another nice HI Express”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here for a business trip. Nice, clean and convenient location near the airport. Didn't have a rental car so the courtesy van driver took us anywhere we needed to go. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We are glad our shuttle van was able to get you to all the places you needed to go during your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. Thank you for your great review and for your business. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    45
    32
    12
    12
See reviews for
39
26
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at this property with our children using rewards nights. Overall, it was okay. We needed adjoining rooms and had to settle for a king accessible room because was adjacent to a double queen room. Not the greatest shower experience.The rooms also could've used a little airing out as they smelled old and stuffy. All in all the rooms served their purpose. The girls enjoyed the pool and the beds where comfortable. The front desk staff was really nice and welcoming also.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. While we are very happy that you chose our hotel for your recent stay, we are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us. We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Georgia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I wish there was a Comfort Suites in this area but we had to settle for the Holiday Inn Express while staying in Irondale, Alabama. This should have been a great stay but a few issues caused this hotel to come up short. The hotel looks as if it had been recently painted on the inside and the smell of paint and cigarette smoke was noticeable on the fourth floor where we stayed. The lack of air conditioning in the hallways made the smell worse. The room also had an odd smell. Out of six days of hotel stays on my trip this was the first hotel that did not have a microwave or refrigerator. The elevators were aggravating; I had to press the buttons several times to get the doors to open each time I rode the elevator. I called before choosing this hotel to check the rate; I was quoted $89. Upon arriving I was told it would be over $100. After saying something about the $89 rate I was quoted, the lady behind the front desk told me she had made a mistake in the price quoted over the phone. She did offer a lower rate but not the $89 I was told over the phone. This was also the only hotel I stayed at without the option of cranberry juice for breakfast. Too many negatives for me to recommend this hotel; unfortunately it is one of the few choices you have in Irondale, Alabama. I should have known to go elsewhere when I saw the parking lot was nearly empty.

Room Tip: Some rooms might have a microwave/refrigerator; make sure you ask if you need one. I would stay on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBDFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustomed to expect from us. I truly apologize if this was the case and I can assure you We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, I assure that your feedback is incredibly that I will definitely keep your review in mind to improve our in-property experience. We appreciate your business and sincerely apologize that we did not provide you with the level of quality that you are accustomed to receive from us. Your business is important to us and I will definitely take your comments into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
100 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Whenever we travel, we stay in a Holiday Inn Express. This one is a typical. I often call the hotel desk and make a reservation with the hotel. The clerk transferred me immediately to the national reservation line as soon as I asked if they had rooms available. Other than that, it was a good experience. The room was clean. The breakfast was typical HIE breakfast, which is good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty to Holiday Inn Express brand. It is nice to read we gave you a good experience also here at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites . Thank you very much for your business and I do hope that next time you are in town, you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I ended up in a smoking room and due to health issues coul not stay in the very smokey room and floor. I turned in my keys explained my health concerns and was told by general manager through front desk clerk that I could check our but would pay for room. I have called corporate and am waiting to here from them. This is awful. Paying for a room that coul kill me. My eyes are swollen and my throat is swollen from the smoke. Please save yourself from holiday inn express. Their policies are awful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyronnda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments about our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are very sorry for the fact that you did not have a comfortable stay. Be assured that we are sharing your concerns with all appropriate management so that corrective measures are taken where feasible. We sincerely apologize for falling short of your expectations as this is not typical of the high standards we strive to maintain.

We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you better in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I would rate this HIE as poor, mostly because the hotel is in desperate need of renovation. I did not realize that the all of the hotel was not non-smoking. I stepped off the elevator and the fourth floor wreaked of stale cigarette smoke. My room smelled like it had been over-deoderized. There was no heavy curtain in my room, just the thin veil, so it was practically daylight in my room because of the light from my the parking lot. At the same time, all that light made the parking lot safe! The breakfast was averge. I tried the eggs, but couldn't eat them because they were too salty. I probably wouldn't stay here again until it had been renovated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronzino_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustomed to expect from us. I truly apologize if this was the case and I can assure you that I will definitely keep your review in mind to improve our in-property experience. Again, I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Needed to stop for a quick nights rest while traveling. Lorraine was super nice and got us checked in quick and easy. Room was clean and temp was perfect. The only thing that kept the rating down was the bed quality...time for a change! Breakfast was what you'd expect from a HIE but no pancake machine like other HIE's.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sshcwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I’m happy to read from your review that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I was especially glad to read that you has a speedy and efficient check-in. Our main concern is for all our guests to have a welcoming stay and I am thrilled that we were able to make your stay enjoyable. Thank you very much for your business and I do hope that next time you are in town, you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irondale
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#48 of 79 in Birmingham
76 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Birmingham - Irondale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
6.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
Address: 811 Old Grants Mill Rd, Irondale, AL 35210-1233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Irondale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Irondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Birmingham East-Irondale, where you'll find comfort and luxury meeting side by side. The Holiday Inn Express is located I-20 at exit 133 by I-459 exit 27. Our hotel is here to provide you with a refreshing atmosphere! We offer a free Express Start breakfast featuring at least two hot items daily! Don't forget to try our delicious cinnamon rolls! Our well-appointed guest rooms feature our new Stay Smart bedding with triple sheeting. Each of our suites has a pullout sleeper sofa, microwave and mini-fridge. Each room has a curved shower rod and Kohler Stay Smart shower head. We offer services such as: free airport shuttle service from 5 AM to 11PM, free high-speed Internet access, on-site fitness and business centers, outdoor swimming pool and spacious meeting rooms. Irondale is the ideal destination for the corporate traveler with Birmingham Airport, Honda of Alabama, UAB, Imaging Business Machine and Trinity Hospital all right in our backyard! Need a fun and convenient get-away with out being in the middle of the hustle and bustle of downtown? Be sure to visit the Irondale Café, Barbers Motor Sports, Talladega Super Speedway, BJCC, Birmingham Civil Rights Institute, Bass Pro Shop and Vulcan Park while in Birmingham! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is a favorite for business travelers and families who are visiting the Birmingham area. Let us prove to be your favorite too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Irondale
Holiday Inn Irondale
Irondale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing