We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Po Boys!”
Review of The Po Boy Factory

The Po Boy Factory
Ranked #5 of 609 Restaurants in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Po Boys!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We came to Huntsville for a hockey tournament. We decided to try The Po Boy Factory after checking TA's reviews. Turned out to be a great idea! We had the Shrimp and Crawfish Dip which comes with French bread as an appetizer and 2 Po Boys, one crawfish and the other oyster. Both were fantastic! Service is great and the atmosphere is casual and comfortable, nothing fancy. We would definitely come back to next time in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    147
    45
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A "Triple D" Delight”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Po Bo Factory has not yet been showcased in an episode of "Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives", but it ought to be. My wife and I met an old friend on mine at the Po Bo Factory for dinner. We are from out of town and they suggested the spot. As we were parking I was saying "Oh no" to myself -- what a dive.

Since the house was full, but not packed on a Wednesday evening, I was hopeful the food would be better than the architecture. While not the best seafood I've ever eaten, it was very good. The table side service was great, even when we over stayed our welcome talking about the "good old days". The one negative was that our food came out of the kitchen in two waves, separated by 10 minutes.

Nevertheless, the Po Bo Factory is a place we intend to visit again whenever we ate in the Huntsville metro area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_Red_Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“fun down and dirty atmosphere....”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

.....just meaning "not fancy". Just casual and fun. Plus the food is delicious and the service is good and the price is right. I particularly enjoy the grilled grouper there. My favorite seafood place in Huntville.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HornDozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guntersville, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
“Laissez les bon temps roulez at NOLA-style eatery in Rocket City”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Craving Cajun? Everyday feels like Mardi Gras at The Po Boy Factory in Huntsville. Located a few blocks north of historic Five Points, the restaurant features Louisiana favorites like spicy shrimp and crawfish etouffee, gumbo, red beans and rice, crab cakes, and jambalaya. Lots of po boy variations to choose from like shrimp, oyster, and Caribbean jerk chicken; as well as muffalettas, fried baskets and dinner menu. Very casual dining atmosphere with a ton of eye candy consisting of quirky artwork, Mardi Gras beads, and college sports. Save room for dessert as there is Key Lime pie and homemade bread pudding with whiskey sauce in the offing. They feature a nice selection of bottled beers too. The service is friendly and fast so there's never a long wait.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Food/Good Service”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Po Boy Factory is a local favorite for us. Highly recommend the gumbo. There is a special price when ordering 2 bowls. The Hot Damn sauce is the bomb!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PamT320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Po Boy Factory also viewed

 

Been to The Po Boy Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing