We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love all the Surins in AL. My favourite Thai! This one is no different....”
Review of Surin of Thailand

Surin of Thailand
Ranked #58 of 601 Restaurants in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Love all the Surins in AL. My favourite Thai! This one is no different....”
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

So, disclaimer: Surin in 5 Points of Birmingham, AL was my first Thai restaurant to ever try, way back in the day. Maybe this biases me, but it is my favourite Thai restaurant even after living in NYC and Indy, and still after trying Thai food literally around the world (except Thailand, unfortunately). The food is always great! Every noodle dish is awesome. The best are Pad See U, Pad Woon Sen, Spicy Beef Noodle (I get it with no beef, sub tofu, but it's great with either), and their Pad Thai Noodle is out of this world. Their curries are wonderful; Masaman is the best. Go for lunch prices for better value and they throw in a Coconut Soup, which is awesome! Even their sushi is very good. The service here in Huntsville is much better than those in B'ham. Love eating here when in HSV. Great locale just off Airport Road. Food is great for vegetarians (like me) and non-veggies alike. Would definitely recommend and will keep going back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    50
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great fried rice”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

They don't scam you here. You get so much food. I like to order the shrimp fried rice (which is the best fried rice in town).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Love the place! Surin has a great menu and the food is exceptional in presentation, quality and all at an affordable price. the place is packed at lunch because of its popularity. Be prepared to wait but know that when you are served, you will be pleased. It also provides sushi prepared to your orders.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank UFORich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertville, AL
1 review
“Great Sushi”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I have never had a bad meal here, it is always great and service is wonderful! My fav is Sushi Combo #1

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Autiger30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
159 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“We love Surin”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Surin is a great date night type restaurant. It's casual but nice and while usually busy the wait for a table isn't usually long. It's a place where the food is special enough to make the visit special but you can still dress casually and be comfortable.

The Sushi is always exceptional. On our most recent trip we had seared tuna as well as a volcano roll. Unfortunately the sushi is never prepared exactly the same way twice, but it is always very tasty and made with the freshest of ingredients. My DH and I were particularly hungry that night so he also had the Roasted Garlic Shrimp & Scallops, without the shrimp (he's allergic). He enjoyed it very much. I had the Pad Prik Shrimp which was good but not quite as good as the Shrimp Curry that I have had on past visits. Then again it wasn't quit as hot either, so it would depend on your individual taste. The sushi took a little longer than usual to arrive but overall the service was good, the restaurant clean, and we had an overall very good experience.

If you enjoy sushi or any kind of asian cuisine then Surin's is hard to beat, especially if you are looking for a restaurant in the South of Huntsville for dinner.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LifesaBanquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surin of Thailand also viewed

 

Been to Surin of Thailand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing