We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Between VPS & PNS
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
Reviewed February 5, 2007

Stayed at this Hampton Inn with two others for business at Redstone Arsenal (about 10 minutes away). Check-in was smooth, check-in staff friendly & jovial, nice after a long drive. Rooms were clean and in good condition. Hotel is older but has been remodeled. Beds are in good shape. My only complaint was the size of the bathroom, a little on the small side. Breakfast was included and of good variety. Hot & fresh. Fresh cookies at night were nice. Hotel is convenient to lots of big name stores and restuarants. Chilies and a local place next to the property, easy to grab a bite. For Mexican, try Rosies, a few miles from the hotel. Great food & margaritas, try the Mexican lasagna for something a little different (lots of cheese). Didn't notice the noise others have reported. Pool & spa looked inviting but did not partake. I've stayed at this property in the past and would stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nuttree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    141
    61
    28
    8
See reviews for
146
92
38
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
116 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2007

As far as Hampton Inns go, this was just average property. Rooms did have updated bedding. Room was large.

Part of the hotel had outside entrances while another section had indoor corridors. I stayed in indoor section.

Staff was not overly friendly. While I didn't have any problems, nothing spectacular about this hotel either.

Breakfast was not as good as many properties that I have stayed at in the past.

If I had to stay in Huntsville again, I would choose another location.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Milbs_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2006

I stayed there for a business trip back in April.

This was a fairly typical Hampton: clean room, cozy loby, great breakfast (hot breakfast), evening cookies (3 variety) and good service.

I had stayed in more than a dozen Hamptons over the years. This was probably the first Hampton I had seen that had exterior corridor. I guess this could be because it was further south than most I had stayed before.

The only problem I had with it was the wooden blind it used. The room's window had no curtain and only had this wooden blind. I was really concerned about how tightly it closed since the other side of the window was the common walkway. I used a spare bath towel to cover up the window. Other than this, I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Liked — All the amenities: pool, public computer w/ i-net in the lobby, cookies, clean room
  • Disliked — The window treatment
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chicagoan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2006

Parking is next to impossible after 6PM if the hotel is at full capacity. There is a strip bar next door where noise permeated through into my room. The room itself was clean, and breakfast was good. The staff was friendly. I moved to the Hampton Inn Madison so I could get a good night's sleep. My room there was more secluded with trees in the back instead of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sfencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2005

I reserved two rooms for my parents and myself. We all enjoyed the Hampton Inn very much. Both rooms were excellent. The hotel itself is pretty, especially the pool. A small, but nice touch, was a lap desk in each room where you could read or put a laptop on while you are in bed or on the couch. Lastly, the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank safety86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2005

Loved staying here. The pool is gorgeous and has a spa, which is a nice touch. The rooms are all big - clean and modern, too. I loved the location, which is close to all the big malls. Plus, the staff are all really friendly - they always do a good breakfast at the Hampton but this was ace. And at 5pm, they put out cookies, meatballs and fresh coffee for all the guests. A grand place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poppy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2005

Nice people and a great value. Good location on University Drive.

  • Stayed December 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yames296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville / Research Park Area
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Huntsville
Sleep Inn & Suites Huntsville
#15 of 53 in Huntsville
258 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville West - Research Pk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
4.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown
1.6 mi away
The Westin Huntsville
The Westin Huntsville
#16 of 53 in Huntsville
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 4815 University Dr NW, Huntsville, AL 35816-1801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Huntsville
#7 Family Hotel in Huntsville
#10 Romantic Hotel in Huntsville
#12 Business Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing