We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had to sleep on the floor, and couch.”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We had to sleep on the floor, and couch.”
Reviewed December 28, 2009

floor, and couch. They do not have any firm mattresses. Hampton Inn customer service basically said if we didn’t like it don’t stay there. (We won’t). Everything else was OK, but what good is a hotel, if you have to sleep on the floor to be comfortable?

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EndUser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    141
    61
    28
    8
See reviews for
148
92
39
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I recently stayed at this hotel while attending the funeral of a loved one. We rented a room with a Jacuzzi (definitely worth the upcharge). The free continental breakfast is a nice amenity if you are new to a city and not sure of your way around. The hotel is conveniently located near a Sam's Club, a shopping mall and several national food chains including TGIFridays, Romano's Macaroni Grill and Chick-fil-A. The staff was very friendly and professional. It made a very difficult visit less difficult.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATLJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

The Huntsville Hampton Inn was one of the best smaller hotels we have ever visited. It was conveniently located near shopping and restaurants. THe hotel was extremely clean, staff was friendly and helpful and the beds were the most comfortable we have ever experienced in a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bravesone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

We selected this hotel because it had a whirlpool and when the desk staff discovered the whirlpool was the draw for us, she placed us in a ground floor room next to the pool. We enjoyed the lodging very much. The rooms were clean and the staff was polite and friendly. We like greek food so Papa Gyros right around the corner was the restaurant for us. We had the mousaka and gyros, yum, yum. The complimentary breakfast was okay. Unlike other reviewers, I like the old fashioned, drive up to your room layout. Not crazy about interior hallways that force one to go through the lobby so whereas others complained, I rejoiced.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank earthmother1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Potomac, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Part of a long distance motorcycle trip. This Hampton Inn was typical -- suburban location near restaurants but not near cultural sites, etc., clean, no nonsense. Nothing special and nothing to specially detract from it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthPotomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2009

We stayed at this Hampton Inn and have no true complaints. It's not one of the newer Hamptons with indoor access. It is one of the older ones, but true to Hampton standards was clean, great breakfast and excellent service.

Rooms bedding was smaller than the newer ones with only double beds. But we were here for a stort stay. The internet worked just fine w/ my laptop and I have no complaints.

One thing I would recommend is NOT to stay in room 145 or near it because it is near the cleaning service and when the workers go in and out getting things, talking, it gets somewhat loud at night. I don't think they were doing this to be rude, but probably didn't realize they were this loud. Also....the light comes in through the curtains if you need it to be pitch black.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmomof3Kentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, La
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2008

We stayed at this Hampton Inn by way of evacuation. We had no time to check tripadvisor to get the rating, however we were very pleased with our stay. When we drove up it appeared to look more like a upscale motel with the outside rooms, however we were in the section that required a room key for entrance, that was cool. The bed and pillows were out of this world, I slept very well. This hotel is located in a great spot, within walking distance to resturants. There's a mall maybe 1/2 mile or less. The staff was great, the breakfast was okay, but the staff was great. We just recently thought we were going to have to evacuate again and I immediately booked this Hampton, thank God we did not have to, but this is a place I would stay again.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Keiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville / Research Park Area
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Huntsville
Sleep Inn & Suites Huntsville
#15 of 53 in Huntsville
258 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville West - Research Pk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
3.7 mi away
Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 4815 University Dr NW, Huntsville, AL 35816-1801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Huntsville
#7 Family Hotel in Huntsville
#10 Romantic Hotel in Huntsville
#12 Business Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing