We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Hampton standards”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was just a "stop" enroute to final destination. The lobby and room itself were nice, but had difficulties getting key to work, door was not fully sealed so external noises were bothersome; only Hampton I have stayed out with outside entrances to room. Exterior was showing its age - a bit worn. Not up to usual Hampton standard, which is quite high.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mon6654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at our hotel. It is only through feedback like yours that we can address, correct and ensure all of our guests’ satisfaction. While we strive to provide our guests with an exceptional stay, I am sorry to hear from your review that you with disappointed with your recent stay. We do realize that you have a choice in where you stay and assure you that your feedback will be internally discussed to improve our offerings and services.

Thank you again for sharing your comments, and please feel free to contact me directly if there is anything else that I can do for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 531 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel maintains Hampton Inn standard amentities, but the set up of the hotel has outward facing doors. These made my room particularly noisy as the hotel is on a busy street.
Fitness facility matched what I have come to expect from Hampton Inn: 1 elliptical, 2 treadmills (very nice), 1 recumbant bike, 1 bench, mats, free weights, stability ball and lots of room to use (good for circuit training).
Pool appeared clean, but did not use.
Lobby was kept.
Some of the most kind and welcoming staff I have ever encountered!!

Surrounding Location is lack luster, but two exits down on 255 towards 565 at Old Madison Pike NW there is an excellent outdoor shopping center with better restaurant selection.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristineMcE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The warmest, kindest staff welcomed us as if we were long-lost family. We spent two nights here in May of 2013 and were super-pleased with everything. The room felt very clean and fresh; breakfast was delicious, with lots of healthy options, and the amenities (well-equipped workout room and lovely outdoor pool) were very nice. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: We liked third floor-no footsteps overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kennsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

If you are looking for Clean, Comfortable, Stylish rooms, this is the place to go. Me and my family have never had such a wonderful experience, overall, with a hotel. Not only is the room great, but the friendly staff and they make you feel like your part of family. Excellent Experience!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Nice hotel, conveniently located, very clean with a friendly staff. Good selection of breakfast items. May be a bit pricey for not having an indoor pool and having a limited fitness facility. I would stay there again and would recomend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Gerard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I was quite disappointed with this property due to the fact that the rooms open to the outside --- more "motel" than "hotel." I've not stayed at any Hilton property that was still using this old school format and was a bit shocked that this property was part of the Hilton brand. The rooms were o.k.---pretty standard fare for Hampton with the exception of the bathroom/sink. The tub and toilet were not updated. The vanity was old and not the typical granite that is common in Hampton Inns nowadays. I only stayed at this property one night and would have moved to another property if my itinerary was to keep me longer in Huntsville. Yes, this property has a lower rate than other Hampton's or comparable hotels in the area. This lower rate also brings in some less than desirable guests. I encountered several guests sitting in the pool area and picnic table area who seemed to be a bit sketchy----smoking and drinking liquor out of brown paper bags and straight from the bottle. Not trying to sound like a snob, but the common areas were filled with people you would expect to see at a truck stop, not at a Hilton property. The only other issue I had was with the elevators and housekeeping. More than twice I needed to use the elevator and was not able to get on because housekeeping was using the elevator and there was no room for me to get on. The building does not have enough elevators--they should have at least one service elevator for staff to use while hauling their cleaning carts around. All in all, I can't blame the hotel manager or staff for the issues they have. The problems are inherent to the building itself. The Hilton Corporation should level this property and build a more modern facility in order to keep this property competitive with the surrounding hotels. I will definitely not stay at this property again.

Room Tip: I can't imagine that there is a good room on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pslandry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Hotel was clean - I was not expecting it to have outside doors, but the hotel seemed secure. It was close to the Indian Creek Greenway which was an excellent running trail. The breakfast was the worst part of the stay - nothing particular that I liked. The evening reception was outstanding.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank pintailkiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Huntsville
Sleep Inn & Suites Huntsville
#16 of 53 in Huntsville
260 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
3.7 mi away
Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Huntsville
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville / Research Park Area
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#19 of 53 in Huntsville
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 4815 University Dr NW, Huntsville, AL 35816-1801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Huntsville
#7 Family Hotel in Huntsville
#10 Romantic Hotel in Huntsville
#12 Business Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range: $78 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing