We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location near the University of Alabama in Huntsville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Huntsville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Huntsville
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Graysville, Alabama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location near the University of Alabama in Huntsville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night. My wife and I were in town to attend a Russian Food Festival, and to help raise some money for a Russian Chapel. The festival was on the university campus, and this hotel is only 1 mile from the university. The close proximity was a huge plus. The room we had was a King room and it was very clean. There was complimentary shampoo and conditioner in the room, in case you had forgotten yours. The hotel had free in room WIFI. The only thing keeping me from giving the property a rating of excellent is the breakfast. It was ok, but it could have been better. It did have a hot meat on the buffet, but I have had better meals at other hotels. Stay here if you are looking for a nice hotel near the university.

Room Tip: All of the rooms here are outside rooms. This makes a difference to some people. Enjoy your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpectrumEnterprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    121
    55
    26
    6
See reviews for
129
72
37
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I would have given 5 stars except for the fact that this hotel is older and has the exterior entrances to all the rooms. This means you have to go outside and walk around to get to the lobby, which is a little inconvenient (especially in the unseasonable cold weather Huntsville was having when I was there). But otherwise, this was a good property. Room was large, very clean, and comfortable. Free Wi-Fi in the room (always a plus!!); very good hot breakfast (complimentary); and pleasant, helpful staff. I would definitely stay here again. Good value for the money!

Room Tip: Since you have to walk outside to get to the lobby, try for a room nearer the front of the building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Room is clean room, breakfast is good, staff is friendly. But AC is too noisy, feel like in a plane. Wifi is only available in lobby. Wired Internet is operated by AT&T, no support from hotel. I spent half hour with AT&T call center, still not got the Internet connected, have to request to change a room.

Room Tip: If you want to use WiFi, choose the room close to lobby so that you could use Wifi in lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eswno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Huntsville, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I really appreciate your taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at our hotel. I was delighted to read from your review that you were pleased with your room and that you thought our breakfast was good and our staff was friendly. We do everything we can for our guest to have an exceptional stay with us. I do however want to personally apologize for the noise and the frustrations you experienced. I am so sorry that the A/C unit in your room was disruptive in any way. I sincerely apologize that your rest was disturbed and I thank you for bringing this up to my attention so that I can follow-up with our maintenance crew.

I also appreciate your comments regarding our internet service. We are pleased to say that we now offter a wired and a wireless solution to make access more convenient for guests.

We want all our guests to have the best stay possible where everything exceeds their expectations. I am sorry that was not the case during your stay.

Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts with us. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! Please stay with us again soon so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very customer focused staff. Very pleasant from arrival to breakfast staff and departure. Quite hotel rooms. Upon arrival was promptly greeted as a hilton honors member, staff quickly checked me in and asked if there was anything I needed to make my stay better. The breakfast staff was constantly either making sure serving area or tables were clean and walked over to ask if there was anything they could get for me. They also made sure that each breakfast item was always available and you weren't waiting for food. On departure the front desk was very cordial in asking if everything was okay with stay and you could tell they were focused on customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TPopeAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great staff, clean rooms, and a great breakfast each morning. The fitness center was one of the largest I have seen compared to other properties. Rooms were new and very comfortable. Breakfast each morning had great variety. I wasn't stuck eating waffles each day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Huntsville, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. While we are delighted that you found our property to be clean, our staff to be helpful and our breakfast to have plentiful choices, we are sorry that you are disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us.

I truly apologize if you found our hotel to be somewhat dated and that we did not provide you with Wi-FI in your room. We are updating our property on an ongoing basis and I do appreciate you bringing these issues to my attention. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. With this in mind, I will definitely take your comments into consideration to improve our property

Please accept our sincere apologies if you were inconvenienced in any way and we hope that next time you are in town; you consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Night Manager stated there were no 1st floor rooms available. The hotel had a 30% occupancy rate at best and and over 50% of the first floor rooms were vacant. Made an otherwise good stay disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Huntsville, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
First of all, thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. I apologize that we were unable to accommodate your reservation on the first floor. Our front desk department goes through a lengthy process each day to ensure that our guests receive exactly the room expected, however at times we do not have the same availability due to guests extending their stays with us. I sincerely apologize if this may have caused you any inconveniences.

Once again, I apologize for the inconvenience and do hope that the next time you travel to the area you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest family
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

This is an older Hampton Inn and could use some updating, but the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff impressed us. The main lobby check-in personnel were smiling and pleasant each time we approached them with a question during our four day stay. Our maid was a darling girl and our room was spotless. Breakfast was typical Hampton fare with good coffee. Not a luxurious place, but dependable and clean.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DDaisydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville / Research Park Area
4.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville West - Research Pk
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Huntsville - Arsensal/South Parkway
3.8 mi away
Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Huntsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Huntsville

Property: Hampton Inn Huntsville
Address: 4815 University Dr NW, Huntsville, AL 35816-1801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Huntsville
#7 Family Hotel in Huntsville
#10 Romantic Hotel in Huntsville
#12 Business Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Huntsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Huntsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing