We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay With Kids”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Place to Stay With Kids”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I had read the other reviews and decided to stay at the Hampton. From the start , Tiffany, was most gracious with the reservation. It was great to come out of the door and off to the pool. The pool was clean and orderly. The location allowed us to walk to the restuarant. Our room was clean and the kids wanted to stay another night. Thanks to others who also reviewed this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpwarner37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    141
    61
    28
    8
See reviews for
144
92
38
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Wonderful front desk staff...Tiffany offered to get my cab lined up for airport transportation, she provided information about the area and all with a smile! The hotel has a government employee discount. Rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable and there was plenty of space. The only room for improvement was to move the ice machines or insulate them....I woke up several times during the night to the sound of ice cubes dropping so if you book a room, ask for a room far away from the ice machines :)
I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the ice machines would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Hotel is exceptionally clean and so are the rooms. The people are very friendly and extremely helpful. The free breakfast was decent, especially the real oatmeal. The free evening food is good and they let you bring in your own drinks. All the rooms have outside doors so if you prefer a hotel with inside hallways, this is not the place for you. Also, if you have a room that faces the street, you will hear street noise; turn on room fan to drown out the noise.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing street are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The room doors do indeed face the outside. However they have a section in the back where the room doors facing internally and security doors at each end. These rooms are newer and bigger than the outward facing rooms. I was in a outward facing room for one night and then asked to be switched. The outward facing rooms have plantation style shutters so that you can close the bottom ones and leave the top ones open if people walking about bother you. However, I thought it made the room dark and it was a small room. The room I switched to was bigger, brighter and newer. I felt comportable in this room.
The Hampton Inn does have some perks i.e. their breakfast and 5-7 snack time. The breakfast is a full breakfast offering scrambled eggs and a meat (bacon or sausage), cereals, waffles, eggs, juice, coffee. It's great. Then the 5-7 daily snack time can be a full dinner in itself. While I was there one night was a taco salad and chips, another night was meatballs sandwich sliders.
Its near alot of other places to eat and only 10 mins away from Bridge Street Stores.
The pool was not open while I was there.
Sometimes it seems that places that are smaller try harder , the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. When I left to catch the early bird out, I was given a breakfast bag, with a bottle of water, a big muffin, apple, and granola bar. Not bad for the price you pay versus the other places. It's a matter of perspective.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back , have doors that face inside. If possible choose a second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLM568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I don't know how the rooms which open to the outside were, but the rear annex of the building, where we were located, had an interior hallway that was dirty and smelly. There were security doors at each end and they, plus the room doors, banged until about midnight and started again about 6 a.m. The staff was ok, not great, and the breakfast, though quite varied, wasn't well prepared. The oatmeal was not good and the scrambled eggs with ham and cheese would have been good had they been real eggs, but they tasted like powder. I was very disappointed with the entire operation and left a day early.

Room Tip: There are two other Hamptons in the Huntsville area that are surely better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aerieport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashland,al.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

An excellant place to stay when in Huntsville. Very clean,wonderful staff so courteous and helpful. Great breakfast with lot of variety. No problems with reservations and check in was a breeze.Nice pool ,work out room,business center, etc. Good location with shopping mall close by and numerous good eating places near by.Only couple of miles from downtown district,Civic Center,etc. I travel quite a bit on my job and only wish all other places were up to this level.I will continue to stay at this Hampton Inn anytime I am in Huntsville on business or pleasure!

Room Tip: Vending and ice machines in several locations so really no bad rooms.I just prefer lower level rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xrayhicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Level Contributor
186 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

The property is current with required modifications but it is an older style (outside entrance) motel. It appears there was at least one addition, maybe two. This place is always booked and I really don't get it. It is an OK property and there are much newer and nicer Hilton properties in the area. Huntsvill traffic is never bad enough to eliminate the other properties. No real complaints, it is just an old hotel with small bathrooms, etc.

Room Tip: I think the new wing has inside rooms, try for those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville / Research Park Area
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Huntsville
Sleep Inn & Suites Huntsville
#16 of 53 in Huntsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
4.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
3.7 mi away
Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville West - Research Pk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 4815 University Dr NW, Huntsville, AL 35816-1801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Huntsville
#7 Family Hotel in Huntsville
#10 Romantic Hotel in Huntsville
#12 Business Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing