We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convienient Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Huntsville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites by Marriott Huntsville to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Huntsville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1125 McMurtrie Drive, Huntsville, AL 35806   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
173 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Convienient Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is an excellent choice when coming to Huntsville or Redstone Arsnenal. For Marriott Club Members, it is better value than the nearby Residence Inn or Fairfield Inn. Being cheaper than the older Residence and more ammenities than the older Fairfield. It is located adjacent to a shopping mall with many major clothing stores and a Target. Walking distance to several sit down and fast food restaurants. There is an outdoor pool, a small fitness center. The suites are ample and reasonably up-to-date. Breakfast is as you might expect in this class. As a bonus for the kiddies they had chocolate milk during my stay. Staff is very fireindly and accomodating. They had no difficulty with my 8:00 AM arrival. If you are not familar with the area you might have trouble going west on Hwy 72. Just enter and exit through the Target shopping center parking lot where there is a traffic light.

Room Tip: No problems with noise in any room as the hotel is off the man drag by a block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Secondtimothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I've been staying at this hotel since April 2012 and up until that time the location, staff, accommodations were awesome. I never had a problem and always looked forward to coming back. However, all that changed in August 2012, when I was given RM212. I have NEVER stayed in this room before and I should have known better not to have stayed in this room because when I first got inside, the toilet seat was broken. The staff was prompt and fixed this issue, however all hell broke loose when I found bed bugs 2 days later. This was a very disgusting and anxiety-filled experience for which the hotel staff did refund my money for the entire visit. Yet, I do NOT plan on returning to this location!

Room Tip: Every room isn't horrible, but please do yourself a favor and be sure to check your room thoroug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoSoulfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

For whatever reason, prices are highly variable. At times this hotel is a good value and at other times it jumps another $20 to $30 per night in price -- making it rather expensive for what it is.

When the prices are lower, however, it's definitely where I'd want to stay in the Huntsville area. It's along University, which is convenient to many parts of Huntsville. Rooms are clean and it is well-managed. The breakfast is less extensive than some other hotels, but they do have a waffle maker that helps make up for the shortcomings. Also, the fact that even the smaller rooms have a stove means that it's very easy to go buy some eggs at the Super Target next door that you can scramble or fry up for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misochipotle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed here recently with my family and i'm going to warn you up front that this is a spartan ad minimalist, but clean extended stay hotel. The water pressure was terrible (average for a hotel though) ad the breakfast is minimal. They don't provide you with enough blankets for the sofa bed and I would say if the price difference is less than $20-$25 go to the Residence Inn but if t price difference is big then stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guru97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were "walked" here from the Residence Inn around the corner after being overbooked. The 2 bedroom suites at Residence Inn have 2 full bathrooms, but at TownePlace the 2 bedroom suite only has one bath. Because of that were "comped" a 2bd, and a king studio suite. The beds were very comfortable, the rooms were decorated nicely, it was very quiet, we have no complaints! I'm not just giving a favorable review because we stayed the night for free, I'm giving a favorable review because we truly had a wonderful nights sleep here!

Room Tip: Some south-facing rooms have a view of the Space & Rocket Center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmitch001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The rooms are nice, very neat and clean, absolutely comfortable. I liked the decoration of the room and the fact that I had a full size fridge, a kitchen and a microwave. The best thing (work-wise) was the spacious desk.

Very quiet place (well, it's Huntsville, so it can't be otherwhise, right?)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankD_Panama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Instead of staying here, you are better of in the Residence Inn located diretly next door. The rooms are incredibly small and are outfitted with those cheap, cheesy window air conditioning units that are extremely loud and do not keep the room very cool. They are constantly switching on and off. The breakfast is nothing more than cold cereal and bagels. The rooms at the Residence Inn are literally almost twice the size, have a much more modern A/C system, and serve a full blown hot breakfast 7 days a week. Also, the Residence Inn serves free dinner tues-fri nights. Townplace offers no dinner at all. By the way, the prices are exactly the same, so im not sure why anyone would want to stay at Townplace. I was in Huntsville for a two month class and switch from Townplace to Residence Inn within the first three days and was very happy i did.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
1.8 mi away
The Westin Huntsville
The Westin Huntsville
#19 of 53 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
2.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Huntsville/Research Park Area
2.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Huntsville
Candlewood Suites Huntsville
#22 of 53 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Huntsville
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Huntsville
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville West - Research Pk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites by Marriott Huntsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites by Marriott Huntsville

Address: 1125 McMurtrie Drive, Huntsville, AL 35806
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites by Marriott Huntsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Huntsville TownePlace Suites hotel in Alabama is in a convenient location to Cummings Research Park, downtown Huntsville, Redstone Arsenal and the Marshall Spaceflight Center. The U.S. Space and Rocket Center is a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your TownePlace Suites by Marriott Huntsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites By Marriott Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing