We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabana Rooms - Gross!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cabana Rooms - Gross!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The lobby of this hotel is nice and has been remodeled recently. The staff is nice and the workout room is good. However, if you are there for a group rate or are given a "cabana" room RUN. The "cabana" rooms are really just code names for the crappy rooms. They have partially remodeled this 1960's or 1970's part of the hotel. My room smells, the bathroom shower is gross, beds are OK, but the decor is shabby the TV is a joke (although a flatscreen the channels and picture are similar to something out of the 1980's). And finally the 1960's Train heater wall is scary, i'm worried i'm going to get carbon monoxide poisoning from it. Overall, I will never stay here again. I've stayed at many other hotels in the Huntsville area for less money that were much nicer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    143
    71
    33
    16
See reviews for
93
40
18
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The first thing you notice about the Marriott in Huntsville is that it resembles the typical older Marriott feel...older appearance with random updates inside. They were performing construction on the Executive Lounge so that wasn't available however, no concession was made for the closure. Of the few things the hotel may have going for it, it cancels it with the staff.
Not only did the staff fail to recognize my Platinum Elite status via my reservation (first time that's happened with online reservations through the Marriott website) but they were totally inept with regard to Marriott policy not only regarding Elite members and Guarantees but of basic check in and room protocols. We never received access to the breakfast served by the lobby. Multiple request for towels (which extras were apart of my profile request) fell on deaf ears.
This location is ideal for travelers especially those there to visit the Space and Rocket center but if I have to travel to Huntsville again, I will be avoiding this Marriott hotel.

Room Tip: Find the SpringHill Suites Downtown. Much better stay for the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

i like this place! the hotel itself is nice enough and clean, but the staff is wonderful! you know it's good when you want to hug your housekeeper! Ms. Pat kept my room so clean - clean when I got here and clean when I returned from a meeting and so helpful and sweet! And Miss Brittany at the front desk is also a delight. She helped me microwave my food in the back when a microwave wasn't otherwise available. Actually, every staff member here went out of his or her way to make me feel well taken care of.
The location is a bit isolated for my taste, but that's from someone who frequently stays in New Orleans where everything is within a block or two.
The fitness center is really a gem! water, pre-wrapped ear buds, a BUNCH of machines (bikes, eliptical trainers, tread mills) and other equipment (exercise balls, weights, workout benches, etc.) a fitness center soundtrack plays and tv screens on each machine keep you entertained. grab an apple on the way out if you'd like!
The pool is a bit small on the inside (but good enough for a dip) and there's no hot tub or sauna (with a fitness room like that, I could REALLY have used a hot tub!) I didn't check it out from the outside because it wasn't really warm enough to swim right now. Anyway, because my bathtub was so clean, I was happy to soak in it to rest my weary muscles.
I like it here. Thanks, Marriott.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Someones_Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank You so much for taking the time to write, I will pass along your comments to my staff, and again Thank you for choosing the HUNTSVILLE MARRIOTT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

They were remodeling in early September-- and the lobby is getting a spectacular new lobby bar. Fitness Center is top notch. I forgot my earbuds, and low and behold, they had a basket of new, complementary earbuds waiting for me! AND clean, rolled, white towels at each work station. The pool staff asked us if everything was good. The maintenance staff said, "We are here to please." Try to GET the CABANA ROOMS! walk out to the pool. Bar is in need of some new tables. But it has great TVs and a pool table.

Room Tip: CABANA ROOOMS--walk out to the pool. The hotel has a wing that was added on. It's about a half a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great place to stay, convientily located to central downtown Huntsville and all industrial area and shopping areas and places to eat. Easy access from Huntsville International Airport and right next to the NASA Space Muesum and Space Camp.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perezmrp P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Marriott lived up to the company's standards - the lobby was pretty, the rooms spacious, the staff friendly and helpful. I travel for business and hotels tend to blurr, but one thing that set this Marriott apart was the view! My room had a large window that framed The Saturn IB Launch Vehicle (a space-needle looking thing) through lovely green trees. It made me happy every morning.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of The Saturn IB Launch Vehicle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
444 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I have stayed here before and don't recall the rooms stinking but this visit, the first room i was given stunk and the AC didn't work. I checked in late ( about midnight) so i wanted the AC to work. I was given another room which seemed a bit better ( not much) on the AC front so i took it. The next day when I came back from a day of work, that room also smelled of urine. Nasty. Both rooms had the AC at 65 degrees so the air should have been on high and blowing out any old nasty smell. Didn't work. I'm not sure if they now allow pets or what but this was two separate rooms on the concierge floor so it seems like a problem. The upside- the staff seems to try to please, like when i switched rooms after midnight check in but yet the smell was overwhelming.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loves2TravelALOT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
1.4 mi away
The Westin Huntsville
The Westin Huntsville
#16 of 53 in Huntsville
443 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville / Research Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown
1.8 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#5 of 53 in Huntsville
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center

Property: Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center
Address: 5 Tranquility Base, Huntsville, AL 35805-3371 (Formerly Huntsville Marriott)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most desirable location! Situated on the grounds of the Space & Rocket Center, the full-service Huntsville Marriott is the first choice for savvy travelers featuring plush beds, cotton-rich sheets and down-filled duvets to help guests receive a good night’s rest. Each room offers a coffee/tea maker and flat-panel LCD television. The Great Room is our gathering spot for colleagues and families to enjoy lunch or dinner. Other dining options include breakfast and dinner in Seasons Restaurant or In-Room Dining. Enjoy the indoor/seasonal outdoor heated pool, workout in our well- equipped fitness center or take a beautiful hike on the scenic trails just outside our door. Your stay will include free Wi-Fi in all common areas as well as 24 hour access to business services. The hotel is proud to be 100% non-smoking. For our guest’s convenience, parking and airport shuttle are both complimentary. The Huntsville Marriott is located off I-565/US 72 on the grounds of the Space & Rocket Center. Cummings Research Park and the University of Alabama in Huntsville are one mile north of the hotel, and downtown Huntsville is four miles east. Huntsville International Airport is located nine miles southwest of the hotel. Other nearby attractions include the 112-acre Botanical Garden, Von Braun Center, EarlyWorks Museums, Huntsville Museum of Art and the renowned Bridge Street Towne Centre Shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing