We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bang for buck”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good bang for buck”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed here for one night for a business trip and it was a convenient location, just 10-15 minutes from the airport, straight shot on the highway. It's an older Marriott, and you can tell that the building itself is pretty worn. That being said, it has Marriott bedding, which was very nice, and the electronics in the room were fairly updated. Besides the linens, the hotel is more like Marriotts budget lines (Springhill Suites/Courtyard/Residence Inn) than a standard Marriott - but the price is also within that range so it makes sense. There is no view to speak of (besides the parking lot).

The restaurant, Porter's, was pretty good, and the servers were very nice. Same with the Seasons for breakfast, I found that service was extremely friendly. They offered me a welcome gift with silver status, which was nice - usually hotels only give welcome gifts with gold or platinum.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaP588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    150
    72
    36
    17
See reviews for
100
41
18
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The bedding is wonderful in this older but restored hotel. Nice duvet, with white linens. It was very clean and cared for. It's older, but it's a very nice hotel. Location is great if you are going to visit The Space and Rocket Center, or Bridge Street in Huntsville. You can walk to the Space and Rocket Center, or a short taxi ride to Bridge Street. The breakfast is really good, but I would advise a package because it is very expensive. Good location, nice hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Rocket Park. Beautiful view looking at the space shuttle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poochiegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed overnight for a business trip on 2/7. The Marriott was suggested to me for its convenient location. It was a short drive (15min) from the airport and located right next to the space center. Hotel: Overall, the place could use a makeover. The outside appears to be outdated. The lobby's appearance seemed a little nicer.
Service/Checkin: Actually pretty impressed with the front desk lady. Check in was fast. She asked for the proper pronunciation of my name, and actually remembered it 4-5 hours later. Very courteous and polite.
Room: Could use a little facelift. The carpet was pretty dingy and ugly. The bed was comfortable. Shower had very good water pressure and was probably the highlight of the room. Everything else was satisfactory for a business layover stay.

All in all, the hotel did its job. If I were to return, I would probably stay more downtown (unless our goal was to see the space center). But did love the service.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the space center
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saysum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We visited Huntsville this past weekend as part of a Cub Scout pack visiting the Space Camp. We ended up bringing the whole family of 6, so opted to stay in the nearby Marriott instead of cramming into the bunks with the other 100 scouts and their dads. We were pretty disappointed, since our experience with Marriott is usually very top notch. This hotel was not very clean, outdated, and the service level was mediocre, especially for a Saturday night.
We checked in around 5:30 in the afternoon, and as we made our way to the room on the fourth floor, were surprised to see all of the dirty dishes still in the hallway from that morning's breakfast room service. After checking in, we went down the street for dinner, and then came back to the hotel so the kids could swim in the indoor pool. The pool area was not clean at all, dimly lit, and there were towels and other items left behind by previous guests all around, so it seemed that the place had not been tidied up for some time. The hot tub water was mirky and there were towels sunk to the bottom of it. The stand for clean towels was empty. and the pool bathrooms did not appear to have been cleaned for some time.
Afterwards, we joined some friends at Porter's, the onsite restaurant. It was dead except for our friends, but yet it took a very long time to get service. Once the food was ordered, it took a long time to cook, and was not very good.
Otherwise, the hotel looked and felt outdated - carpet, wallpaper etc. The beds in the room were a little on the worn out side, as were the sheets and pillows.

I hate to complain, as we are big fans of the Marriott properties. This one unfortunately was a combination of poor cleanliness, mediocre service, and a stark need for renovation.

Room Tip: We asked for a suite, but learned that all the rooms are the same size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice in the past couple of months. The rooms are clean and comfortable but the bathrooms are in need of updating. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, service is excellent. Both stays were quiet and relaxing. The location, adjacent to the Space & Rocket Center and easy access to I-565, couldn't be better. Although I will most likely stay at this hotel again in the future, I would like to see the lobby renovated w/new furniture and a bit more attention paid to grounds/parking lot maintenance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoey30043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel has come a long way and now feels a little more like a Marriott. The renovations don't show (The rooms look new instead of old but renovated.) The hotel still has a long way to go, though, and they just barely made four stars. Here's why:

I have always liked this hotel for it's service and the fact that it has two restaurants, but as far as cleanliness and how nice the facilities were, it deserved about 2.5 stars. this hotel was in deep need of a renovation. Now, however, it has been renovated and renovated right for that matter. The only signs of it's age are in the lobby and downstairs areas, which have not yet been renovated but will be soon. The rooms look like that of a new hotel, that is, except for the vanity being outside of the bathroom and the tiles in the bathroom, but those are pretty minor (they do, however, downgrade the rooms to four stars.)

The rooms and the food at this hotel are priced very reasonably (this is why I gave it five stars for value.) Especially since the service is very good, obviously it isn't Ritz-Carlton service but everyone was nice. I did, however, feel like there wasn't enough staff, nobody to open your car door, one person at the front desk, no concierge, no bellmen (at least to my knowledge.) The place felt a little abandoned and just didn't feel like a real Marriott.

As far as location goes, the Huntsville Marriott is in a very good location for both business and leisure. It is literally right next door to the U.S. Space and Rocket Center and just a short drive away from Bridge Street and Research Park. If you were wondering about kid's activities, they have a very nice indoor-outdoor pool, but that is it.

Overall, this hotel still has a long way to go, and it just barely made four stars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My family stayed here for the first time and had a great experience. Room was clean and comfortable, pool was nice and warm, room service was great! Best crabs cakes I have ever had:) The only negative I have to say is that the feminine products were out in the lobby bathroom and never refilled during my stay after several request, but no big deal as there are plenty of spots close by to pick them up. Also the business office was very helpful, printer and internet worked great. Will def stay here again next time we are in Huntsville.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children, ask for a view of the space center:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetmelissa1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
1.4 mi away
The Westin Huntsville
The Westin Huntsville
#16 of 53 in Huntsville
459 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville / Research Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#8 of 53 in Huntsville
526 reviews
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center

Property: Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center
Address: 5 Tranquility Base, Huntsville, AL 35805-3371 (Formerly Huntsville Marriott)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most desirable location! Situated on the grounds of the Space & Rocket Center, the full-service Huntsville Marriott is the first choice for savvy travelers featuring plush beds, cotton-rich sheets and down-filled duvets to help guests receive a good night’s rest. Each room offers a coffee/tea maker and flat-panel LCD television. The Great Room is our gathering spot for colleagues and families to enjoy lunch or dinner. Other dining options include breakfast and dinner in Seasons Restaurant or In-Room Dining. Enjoy the indoor/seasonal outdoor heated pool, workout in our well-equipped fitness center or take a beautiful hike on the scenic trails just outside our door. Your stay will include free Wi-Fi in all common areas as well as 24 hour access to business services. The hotel is proud to be 100% non-smoking. For our guest’s convenience, parking and airport shuttle are both complimentary. The Huntsville Marriott is located off I-565/US 72 on the grounds of the Space & Rocket Center. Cummings Research Park and the University of Alabama in Huntsville are one mile north of the hotel, and downtown Huntsville is four miles east. Huntsville International Airport is located nine miles southwest of the hotel. Other nearby attractions include the 112-acre Botanical Garden, Von Braun Center, EarlyWorks Museums, Huntsville Museum of Art and the renowned Bridge Street Towne Centre Shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing