We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marriott Huntsville needs some TLC” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huntsville Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Huntsville Marriott
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Atlanta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Marriott Huntsville needs some TLC”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We visited Huntsville this past weekend as part of a Cub Scout pack visiting the Space Camp. We ended up bringing the whole family of 6, so opted to stay in the nearby Marriott instead of cramming into the bunks with the other 100 scouts and their dads. We were pretty disappointed, since our experience with Marriott is usually very top notch. This hotel was not very clean, outdated, and the service level was mediocre, especially for a Saturday night.
We checked in around 5:30 in the afternoon, and as we made our way to the room on the fourth floor, were surprised to see all of the dirty dishes still in the hallway from that morning's breakfast room service. After checking in, we went down the street for dinner, and then came back to the hotel so the kids could swim in the indoor pool. The pool area was not clean at all, dimly lit, and there were towels and other items left behind by previous guests all around, so it seemed that the place had not been tidied up for some time. The hot tub water was mirky and there were towels sunk to the bottom of it. The stand for clean towels was empty. and the pool bathrooms did not appear to have been cleaned for some time.
Afterwards, we joined some friends at Porter's, the onsite restaurant. It was dead except for our friends, but yet it took a very long time to get service. Once the food was ordered, it took a long time to cook, and was not very good.
Otherwise, the hotel looked and felt outdated - carpet, wallpaper etc. The beds in the room were a little on the worn out side, as were the sheets and pillows.

I hate to complain, as we are big fans of the Marriott properties. This one unfortunately was a combination of poor cleanliness, mediocre service, and a stark need for renovation.

Room Tip: We asked for a suite, but learned that all the rooms are the same size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    135
    68
    30
    16
See reviews for
87
40
18
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice in the past couple of months. The rooms are clean and comfortable but the bathrooms are in need of updating. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, service is excellent. Both stays were quiet and relaxing. The location, adjacent to the Space & Rocket Center and easy access to I-565, couldn't be better. Although I will most likely stay at this hotel again in the future, I would like to see the lobby renovated w/new furniture and a bit more attention paid to grounds/parking lot maintenance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoey30043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel has come a long way and now feels a little more like a Marriott. The renovations don't show (The rooms look new instead of old but renovated.) The hotel still has a long way to go, though, and they just barely made four stars. Here's why:

I have always liked this hotel for it's service and the fact that it has two restaurants, but as far as cleanliness and how nice the facilities were, it deserved about 2.5 stars. this hotel was in deep need of a renovation. Now, however, it has been renovated and renovated right for that matter. The only signs of it's age are in the lobby and downstairs areas, which have not yet been renovated but will be soon. The rooms look like that of a new hotel, that is, except for the vanity being outside of the bathroom and the tiles in the bathroom, but those are pretty minor (they do, however, downgrade the rooms to four stars.)

The rooms and the food at this hotel are priced very reasonably (this is why I gave it five stars for value.) Especially since the service is very good, obviously it isn't Ritz-Carlton service but everyone was nice. I did, however, feel like there wasn't enough staff, nobody to open your car door, one person at the front desk, no concierge, no bellmen (at least to my knowledge.) The place felt a little abandoned and just didn't feel like a real Marriott.

As far as location goes, the Huntsville Marriott is in a very good location for both business and leisure. It is literally right next door to the U.S. Space and Rocket Center and just a short drive away from Bridge Street and Research Park. If you were wondering about kid's activities, they have a very nice indoor-outdoor pool, but that is it.

Overall, this hotel still has a long way to go, and it just barely made four stars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

My family stayed here for the first time and had a great experience. Room was clean and comfortable, pool was nice and warm, room service was great! Best crabs cakes I have ever had:) The only negative I have to say is that the feminine products were out in the lobby bathroom and never refilled during my stay after several request, but no big deal as there are plenty of spots close by to pick them up. Also the business office was very helpful, printer and internet worked great. Will def stay here again next time we are in Huntsville.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children, ask for a view of the space center:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetmelissa1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have mixed feelings about the Marriott because I had a great stay here, but it could have been better.

I love what they've done as far as decorating, service amenities, location, views, and all that. However, I don't think Marriott is living up to what it could be.

The building itself is old. The outside views and pool area need some serious help. We opened our window and had an awesome view of the rockets when you look straight out, but then you look down to look at the garden/pool area and it's so ugly. Granted, our stay was in middle of December, but I still think they should have a nicer area. The pool furniture looked about 10 years old. There was a random space full of rocks outside our window and it looked more like a warehouse roof than a view from a respected hotel.

The build of the room was also old and needed to be re-done. I could see where they tried to make the furniture and everything else INSIDE the room nice, but the bottom line is the appliances and walls were too old and a little cramped.

But with all the "not so nice stuff" out of the way: I LOVED the bedding set they had on our bed. It was fresh and fun! I also loved all the different pillows there. We slept so well!

They also have a nice coffee set up in the room which I like because I love coffee! The cups they had set out were not the regular styro foam cup, but the fancy almost plastic cups with lids! I really enjoyed that and was able to take my coffee with me when I left.

The toilet was nice and they had a new toilet that gave you the option to save water when you flushed. So that was pretty neat.

As for breakfast you do have to pay to have a meal. But I ordered the breakfast BLT and it was really good and worth the money we paid.

I would have like to have had lotion as 1 of my house keeping items, but was only provided shampoo & conditioner and of course bar soap.

Overall it was a nice stay. The things that I'd change are topical, but I think because of the location and this being an Aerospace town- whoever is in charge should really think about remodeling entirely. Walls and pool and everthing. I think if this place was new and nicer people would, and could, pay more money to stay there. Just my thoughts.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prettynpink219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I had a clean, quiet room with a view of real NASA rocketships! The location is convenient to anything you might want to do in and around Huntsville. The Marriott offers convenient parking and great service, too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Super clean, awesome staff, comfy beds and pillows. Only saw one flaw, coffee in room is bitter. I couldn't put enough cream in it. Order room service for delicious coffee. We were there for Thanksgiving holiday. The Marriott makes it a home away from home. The thanksgiving buffet was OUT OF THIS WORLD AMAZING. Way to go. Bravo to the chefs. Happy Holidays....

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FranknJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
1.4 mi away
The Westin Huntsville
The Westin Huntsville
#15 of 53 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville / Research Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown
1.8 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#5 of 53 in Huntsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntsville Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntsville Marriott

Property: Huntsville Marriott
Address: 5 Tranquility Base, Huntsville, AL 35805-3371
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Huntsville Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Huntsville Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Huntsville Hotel Huntsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing