We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Any place but Huntsville a nice 2 1/2 star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Williams Ave SW, Huntsville, AL 35801-5045 (Formerly Hilton)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Huntsville
New Orleans
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Any place but Huntsville a nice 2 1/2 star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

$47.00 on Priceline. The hotel is old and not updated. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. Pet friendly and still has smoking rooms available.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelshoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nikral, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2010
Suggest guests looking for best rates go online at Holiday Inn website and choose advance purchase rate to gaurantee location and best available rate. Priceline is not always accessible to our hotel and you don't know which hotel you will be in until you have purchased on non/cancel reservation. PS. We are a solid 3 star hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    42
    24
    17
    10
See reviews for
18
16
19
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

i was looking forward to staying at this property considering the problems we have had in the past with huntsville hotels. this one was better but far from justifying the rates.
while taking a shower, the water cycles from freezing cold to scalding hot. at first i thought it may be an issue of "peak demand". my shower at 1330 was no different.
the internet continuously shuts off and connects. i was unable to complete page loads therefore unable to complete required paperwork. once again, the wi-fi on my bus was much more stable.
it is a shame to write a poor review on an otherwise well positioned property location wise. the front desk people i encountered were very professional as well as personable. the starbucks in the lobby is a nice amenity. very large and very well lit parking lot affords a better feeling of security than most hotel parking lots. as i said, location is well suited for most anything along memorial prkwy. outside of the shower and internet, my only other issue are the elevators. everyone i rode was being jerky and bumpy and as many as i ride, these were a little "un-nerving".

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terryhawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nikral, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2010
Since the dates of this stay we have upgraded and expanded the bandwidth or our internet service to prevent interuptions in service to our guest. HI speed wireless service is available at no charge. The issue related to the fluctuation of water temperature was due to a faulty circulation pump which has been replaced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

I booked my room here solely based on the rate through Hotwire.com and its location in "downtown Huntsville." I was pleasantly surprised by this one. This is the oldest or among the oldest hotels in downtown Huntsville, but don't let deceive you. It has been wonderfully maintained and was very pleasant down to the details. Remember, this is a full service Holiday Inn, so there is no free breakfast. But my room service breakfast was delicious and delivered promptly, staff was great, and my room was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzmina11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

This Holiday Inn was trying to be a little too upscale for its location. My favorite part was having the park across the street to walk, feed the funky colored ducks or just watch the happy children. The service in the hotel was great, but we were disappointed to have to pay extra for a mini-frig & microwave. Those are generally standard, along with free breakfast. No free breakfast was a down side, too. We would prefer a free breakfast right in the hotel. Oh, & the fire alarm went off twice while we were there; once late at night & once during the day. Not sure why? Overall, this hotel met our needs but could stop trying to be so fancy & meet the needs of the regular people who stay there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, LA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

I had booked a room online for one night and when I arrived to check in, I had been upgraded to a suite w/ free breakfastand a gift certificate for the restaurant. The room was very clean, plenty of towels, etc. When my friends arrived, we were allowed to keep the same room for another night and were allowed to cancel their reservations & stay with me in the larger room.
The staff was very friendly and helpful! This hotel is in a very good location and is directly across the street from the Von Braun Center. We were able to walk over to the concert we were attending.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Huntsville and I will use them again if I'm ever in Huntsville!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mhughes57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Tennessee
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

I have stayed here many times. This was a Hilton and the only hotel in the area (downtown) until the New finer Embassy Suites came in. It is now a Holiday Inn and they have refurbished recently and it is still a very good value. Since they have so many rooms and are the only ones in the area, you can almost always get it on Priceline for about $45 if you select downtown Huntsville. (You always take a risk on Priceline.) WiFi internet was easy and free. Plenty of great parking.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eatmoresalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse ne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

I had previously stayed at the Embassy which is a newer downtown hotel but chose the Holiday Inn on this trip because I booked late and Embassy was full. I've experienced both hotels and next time I'll come back to the Holiday Inn. The Embassy was newer and the staff was ok but at the Holiday Inn I found the staff to be friendly. It seemed like everybody was in a good mood and the atmosphere was just more comfortable. The hotel is older but there's been some recent updating and the rooms are clean and in good shape. I also saved about $ 30.00 on the rate. I found it a great buy for the money.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biggsmanroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Huntsville
Hampton Inn Huntsville
#3 of 55 in Huntsville
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South
4.9 mi away
The Westin Huntsville
The Westin Huntsville
#15 of 55 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown
Address: 401 Williams Ave SW, Huntsville, AL 35801-5045 (Formerly Hilton)
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown is a full service hotel noted for outstanding value conveniently located across the street from the Von Braun Civic Center and Big Springs Park, just blocks from Huntsville's Historic District and within minutes from all business and leisure destinations. Huntsville's unique charm and atmosphere is best experienced downtown and the heart of Huntsville hospitality resides at the Holiday Inn Downtown Huntsville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Huntsville Downtown Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing