We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a good renovation”

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive
Ranked #37 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

This is the former Sheraton and they spent big bucks on a renovation and did not include elevators. 100/300 series rooms are ground floor. The breakfast is in building 2 while checking is in building 1. The rooms that you want are the 300 rooms, ground floor where breakfast is served.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsvex, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Dear Underpressure,
We appreciate your favorable marks regarding our rooms and cleanliness but I am sorry that we did not meet your highest expectations. I apologize if our lack of elevator service caused you an inconvenience. Most of the time we are able to accommodate first floor requests made in advance and our staff is always willing to help in any situation. I do also appreciate you recognizing the major renovations that we did make. Our location, however, is about one mile east. We were formerly the Holiday Inn Space Center.
We thank you for staying with us. I do hope you will give us the honor of serving you again during your next visit to Huntsville.
Sincerely,
Charles Guice
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 60 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

Service was excellent, happy employees, room clean, location excellent. Nice touch: evening reception. Breakfast super as usual for a hi express. Only problem - crappy wifi. What is it with hotels that's cant invest in simple wifi that bloody well works?!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gasp262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsvex, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Gasp262,
Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We appreciate your kind comments and I am glad you enjoyed the manager's reception in addition to our other offerings. I am sorry you had problems with the wi-fi and we will certainly take a look at what may have caused the problem. We thank you for staying with us and we hope you will visit us again.
Sincerely,
Charles Guice
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Negatives: Room quite small, very dated facility overall, poor soundproofing, busy hwy location.

Positives: Breakfast ample & tasty. Friendly staff.Amenable to late checkout.

I expected a little more for the price, and could have paid less elsewhere in Huntsville for the same.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sojournology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsvex, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Sojournology,
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your overall experience with us due to your dissatisfaction with our facilities. I do appreciate your kind remarks regarding our breakfast and staff. Our staff works very hard to provide excellent customer service and a clean, comfortable room. I do hope that you would give us another opportunity to serve you should you return to Huntsville.
Sincerely,
Charles Guice
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is actually a nice hotel and I enjoy staying here. There are a few things you should know though. There are no elevators. The rooms numbered 100 and 300 are on the ground floor. Those numbered 200 and 400 are on the second floor. There is a hot and cold breakfast in the mornings and Mon-Thurs a managers happy hour with snacks, sodas, well drinks, beer ,and wine. I wish they would extend it to seven days like most other chains do, but for some reason they haven't. They have a nice pool area and a large open tree-filled area with picnic tables next to it. The only thing lacking would be some bar-b-que pits. The rooms are decent and the staff is friendly. The grounds are fairly well maintained. There is only one snack machine area and that is located by the main office area. There are soda machines at the end of the halls, but I have only found one ice machine per building. All in all though, nice place to spend the night-or week!

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms in the 300 and 400 range face the pool. Smoking rooms are available upon reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsvex, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear Lee M,
We appreciate you taking time to review our hotel and thank you for your comments. I am glad to know that you were able to enjoy the amenities of our hotel and appreciate you sharing your observations for others. We thank you for your recommendation and I hope we have the pleasure of serving you again.
Sincerely,
Charles Guice
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Every staff I encountered....front desk, van driver, wait staff, maintenance...were extremely friendly and helpful, and genuine, not just putting on a good front. The room was comfortable, and the courtesy van was very convenient!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmhutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsvex, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear MMHutch,
Thank you for your extremely kind remarks regarding our hotel staff. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff as I know they will appreciate them as well. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can share our hospitality with you again soon.
Sincerely,
Charles Guice
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Love the breakfast, bathroom smelled but staff moved us to a different room quickly! Pool clean. Easy check in and fast checkout . Restaurants close by!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tj1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsvex, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I am sorry for the inconvenience you were caused due to the problem you encountered but am I am pleased to know our staff responded quickly. I am also glad you enjoyed our Express Start breakfast and our pool. We thank you for staying with us and hope you will visit us again.
Sincerely,
Charles Guice
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We would have preferred the Embassy Suites but opted for a cheaper spot. The staff was warm and inviting, the rooms clean and cool. PERFECT!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank audrasena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear Audrasena,
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you chose to stay with us and appreciate your kind remarks. I am glad we were able to make your stay "perfect". Please come back to see us again soon.
Sincerely,
Charles Guice
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville West - Research Pk
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Huntsville University Drive
1.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Huntsville
Sleep Inn & Suites Huntsville
#16 of 53 in Huntsville
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#33 of 53 in Huntsville
50 reviews
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Huntsville - U.S. Space and Rocket Center
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntsville - Research Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive

Address: 3810 University Dr NW, Huntsville, AL 35816-3142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Price Range: $69 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is conveniently accessible to I-565, approximately 12 miles from the Hsv Intl Airport, two miles from downtown Huntsville. Hotel amenities include Express Start breakfast, free high-speed Internet access, comp airport transportation, free local calls, laundry/dry cleaning services, fitness room, free access to full service gym facility, free parking, business center, 61 cable channels with Showtime and pay-per-view. You are welcome to join us for our Manager's reception M-T 5-7 p.m. Guest rooms feature cable TVs, coffeemakers, hairdryers, complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, irons and ironing boards, in-room movies, individual climate controls, two dual-line phones, voicemail and work desks with lamps. There are also 28 two-room suites available. Local attractions include the U. S. Space and Rocket Center, Hsv. Botanical Gardens, Constitution Hall Park, Kiwanis Metroplex, Early Works Museum, Hsv. Dragway. Partner in Excellence Award 2005. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville-University Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Hunstville-University Drive
Holiday Inn Huntsville
Huntsville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing