We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Huntsville - Research Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Huntsville - Research Park
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Huntsville
Glasgow, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Family of 4. room was big enough for us all. enough hot water for everyone's shower. clean room. pool was clean and nice. staff was very friendly and helpful. The only thing that I would suggest is that when a family of 4 stays, there needs to be linen and blankets for the sofa bed as well. Wasn't a big deal to ask for them but it would save everyone time. Also, sofa bed had a spring hanging out of the end of it that I didn't see until it scraped my leg. Management was very friend when discussing the matter. We would definately stay there should we visit Alabama again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    40
    41
    4
    1
See reviews for
32
12
7
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bremen
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed there for a week. Was booked into the Executive level. 20% higher rate than normal levels. Breakfast and manager special in the evening are not paying off for that. All other amenities are Holiday Inn standard. The gym is not acceptable. 10 by 10 feet with two treadmills one cross trainer and a bike. Both treadmills need urgent maintenance; not usable. Oll over not a real good deal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vielflieger30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntsville - Research Park, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very sorry that you didn't find the private key access floor, evening cocktails and hors' deovres, upgraded room amenities and complimentary breakfast up to expectations. We are however in talks regarding expanding our fitness room and we are sorry noone told you of the membership we have with Powerhouse Fitness across the street from hotel. If there is anything we may do to make it up to you please contact us here at the hotel. Thanks again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is 20 miles from I65, so be prepared to drive. The traffic was quite heavy (at about 4:30pm) with a couple highway interchanges from the South.

We booked a King Executive Room. The front desk personnel was very friendly when we checked in. We were given a room on the 5th floor. What they didn't tell us was that in order to get to the 5th floor in the elevator, we needed to use our key card. The elevator wouldn't go to the 5th floor unless you had a special key card. Apparently, as Priority Club members we got special perks - this was one.

We were not expecting the room to be so small. It had waaaay too much furniture in it, it was dark and needed to be updated. They gave us the room we booked, but we were not satisfied with it; we expected it to be a much better room than it was.

We called the front desk and they were able to give us a King Suite instead. This room was AWESOME! It was absolutely HUGE! This room was $30 more than what we originally booked and was well worth it! However, they gave it to us at the rate for the King Executive room to keep us happy. Next time, we would get the King Suite - it's well worth the extra $30. There is a separate area for the fridge, sink & microwave. A four person table & chairs, a large flat panel tv (50" possibly), sofa bed, chair, desk, full dresser, chest, & end tables in the room. There is a bathroom with a sink, shower & tub PLUS another sink with makeup mirror outside the bathroom. Bathrobes are supplied.

As Priority Club member, we received coupons for two free drinks in the restaurant. When we changed rooms they gave us two more. There is a special reception room on floor 5. They offered free drinks and snacks for a couple hours in the evening. In the morning, there was a delicious, free breakfast buffet of eggs, sausage, toast, muffins, rolls, fruit, coffee & juice on the 5th floor only.

I gave the rating for the rooms an average because I think the regular rooms are old and need updating. However, we would definitely stay at this hotel again if we were going to Huntsville, AL.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Foodkop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntsville - Research Park, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. The staff here at the Holiday Inn Research Park is gald you enjoyed our Executive Level and in particular one of two suites. we look forward to serving you again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My firm booked me into the hotel so i didn't have any choice so I read some reviews before i came. I must admit i did arrive with a certain amount in intrepidation but i'm glad to say i was plesantly surprized. The room was spacious and had verything i need although the tv channels could have aleast on international news channel but that a small point. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and courteous. I would suggest if you are staying for a while you will need a car but if it is only for a couple of day the shuttle bus will run you and pick you up from most places. Richard Smith was a great ambassador for the hotel and when he ran me around he even gave me a little history tour. One time is if you ring the hotel when you arrive at the airport they will pick you up. Of course if the shutle bus is on another call you may have to wait but i think it is worth it. With complimentary coffee on tap all day you can get a caffine fix at will.
I will certainly stay at this hotel again. This is not a glitzy 5 star hotel, if you want one of therm you may wish to look elsewhere but the staff certainly made me feel like a super star and they couldn't do enough for me and when i asked for a late check out they were only too willing to oblige. My onyt gripe is that i had to wait to long for them to cook two simple eggs at a time when there was only two of us in the resturant.
Hats off to everyone.

Room Tip: Turn off the fridge and a/c/heating when you are not using it other wise it has a habit of coming on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntsville - Research Park, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We thank you very much for your kind words and can assure you we are coaching our breakfast cooks to pick up their speed. we will recognize Richard Smith for your feedback on his service and look forward to serving you again. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn research Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

After my last visit to this hotel I vowed I would never use it again but unfortunately a colleague did the booking so I returned with some trepidation. During the 4 years I had been away nothing had changed and in ways the hotel had got worse. In my room the carpet was threadbare and the rest of the furnishings and fittings were old and in need of refurbishment and in my colleague's room there was no shower curtain, obviously the management had not heard of quality control. Breakfast, whilst wholesome, took an age and for the most part the staff were surly and abrupt. The bar was OK but one member of staff appeared to be high on some substance and was far too friendly and wouldn't leave us alone. One of the very few saving graces was the efficiency and politeness of the staff working on the desk. My advice is to avoid at all cost and use the Marriott next to the Space Center or the Embassy Suites downtown.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Huntsville - Research Park, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Christopher C,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soddy Daisy, Tennessee
Level Contributor
243 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed for a night at this hotel with my mother and my 5 year old twin boys. We enjoyed our stay. They had our room ready two hours early so that was great. We booked it because we wanted an indoor pool and a place in a nice area close to Huntsville Botanical Gardens to see the Galaxy of Lights.

Pros-nice staff
Lots of luggage carts
located in a mall parking lot so close to many stores and restaurants-but bad traffic if you go at Christmas time which we did so keep that in mind
We did not hear the bar and live music in our first floor room at all
the indoor pool was nice and sauna and the outdoor pool looked nice as well
The beds were comfortable and the furniture was nice
Nice linens
Clean

Cons-
A little pricey
The tv set up was annoying because when you turn it on it goes to some channel where they make you try to buy pay per view and it was hard to get off of it and someone could easily accidentally order a pay per view movie that way.
a little cramped in the room for multiple people
the hot tub was way too hot when we first got there, but I told them to turn it down and they did and then it was fine
the pool was a little cold and could have used a heater

I would stay there again and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: I liked that we were on the first floor very close to the entrance and the pool so we did not have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aprilsumner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntsville - Research Park, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and glad you had a great weekend. we have looked into the TV situation and have that squared away. Pool and hot tub temperatures are monitored everyday and we attempt to keep both at the advised temp. we hope you give us the pleasure of serving you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Newer room than last time and updated lobby area. Forgot a razor and the staff brought one with shaving cream within minutes. Really enjoyed the band at Hoppers. Indoor heated pool makes it nice for children too.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jc111atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntsville - Research Park, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your show of support! Come back and see us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville West - Research Pk
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Huntsville
Comfort Suites Huntsville
#22 of 55 in Huntsville
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Huntsville
Fairfield Inn Huntsville
#26 of 55 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Huntsville
Hampton Inn Huntsville
#3 of 55 in Huntsville
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
2.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Huntsville
Candlewood Suites Huntsville
#25 of 55 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Huntsville
Sleep Inn & Suites Huntsville
#14 of 55 in Huntsville
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Huntsville - Research Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Huntsville - Research Park

Property: Holiday Inn Huntsville - Research Park
Address: 5903 University Dr NW, Huntsville, AL 35806-2505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Huntsville - Research Park 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Research Park Huntsville Hotel is truly at the heart of it all, centrally located on the grounds of Madison Square Mall and adjacent to Cummings Research Park, only two miles from the Main Gate of Redstone Arsenal. Our beautifully designed guest rooms are the perfect home base whether traveling for business or pleasure. And, in your down time you can relax at Hoppers Bar & Grill, Huntsville's #1 night spot. You can dance the night away or just unwind with our live entertainment. Hopper's is also a great place for breakfast, lunch or dinner. You shouldn't miss the Country Lunch Buffet Tue-Fri or the mouth-watering Sunday Lunch Buffet. If you're hosting a meeting or social event in Huntsville, the Holiday Inn has over 5400 square feet of flexible meeting space to accommodate your every need. When your special event is done, take a dip in our indoor/outdoor pool for year-round fun. Let our genuine, caring staff take care of everything. Making you feel special is our specialty! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Huntsville - Research Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Huntsville - Research Park Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing