We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service from Hotel Manager”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
GreenLeadersGold level
Alpharetta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor customer service from Hotel Manager”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Don’t trust your written confirmation from this hotel! A reservation means nothing to the hotel manager who not only did not honor our confirmed reservation for a non-smoking room, but made no effort at finding a solution. At 10:00PM in a town sold out due to a lacrosse tournament nearby, we were simply asked “do you want the smoking room or not?” The manager showed no empathy for the situation the hotel caused by over booking their rooms and was even a little smug. Once we returned from the trip, we even voiced our concern and treatment with Hilton’s customer service department and received no satisfaction. So the hotel management makes an error in over booking their hotel and we paid the price. Don’t let this happen to you. The Marriott Suites across the street is brand new and their staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Book the Marriott Suites across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlpharettaDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    295
    118
    66
    40
See reviews for
354
169
49
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
smithville, ms
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

all the staff were so nice and hospitable. the complimentary breakfast is to die for!! room was clean and plenty of space. the pool is clean and had fun. We will definately try to stay here on our next visit to huntsville which will be soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vvnanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Mississippi
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

My husband and I were in Huntsville attending an event at the Von Braun Center and chose this hotel due to the proximity to the venue. I (incorrectly) assumed that this would be a mediocre hotel. We arrived to a beautiful atrium, polite and knowledgeable staff, and an exceptional room. We got up the next morning to a full breakfast, complete with cooked to order eggs, breakfast meats, and all the trimmings, in the atrium. Later that day we came back after some site seeing to find a free snacks and drink area set up in the same area. We don't drink, but wandered through to see what was there and was impressed to see several choices as well as family friendly options. This hotel is definitely a cut above in both service and amenities. We travel a lot and normally stay with Marriott, but are re-thinking our choice after this great stay. The only downside was that it took the maid until after 6:00 pm to clean our room. There was a huge group (and I mean HUGE) who checked out the same day so I feel certain that that caused the slower service. This will not stop us from staying again soon!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disfan1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
152 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We just spent two evening in this hotel and couldn't have been happier. Every member of the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the beds are very comfortable. The breakfast was fabulous and the evening reception enjoyable. The hotel is beautiful and the area in the back with the water and fountains was lovely. We were offered shuttle rides to various attractions and the driver stopped and got us discount tickets. It is only about 4 miles to the Space Center and the wonderful Botanical Gardens. There's even a Starbucks in the lobby. There was a $5 per night parking fee which is very reasonable for a city hotel. When I'm in Huntsville, I will definitely be back here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We were there to pick up our son from the space camp and chose this property over the Westin since it's a better deal for a family of 5. The hotel is about 5-10 minutes drive to the space camp site from the highway, very convenient, although there is not much going on in the downtown setting except the convention. The Bridgetown shopping center is then another 5 minutes drive away. The room is spacious, kept quite well, the only issue i have is the thin wall and we happened to have some teenagers banging the doors next to us late at night. The hotel security took care of the problem as soon as I called the front desk though. The managerial reception was nice with drinks, cheese plate and salsa/chips. The cook-to-order breakfast was very good with the omelet station. Overall, we enjoy our stay and definitely a good deal compared to other options in the area.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ntai07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I have used this hotel for business extensively.

What I love: The staff are extremely gracious and helpful; Free shuttle to the airport and to/from other selected locations; free breakfast; free wine & snacks in the evening at the "manager's reception"; Ruth's Chris Steakhouse room service (yes, that's right, the hotel restaurant is a Ruth's Chris) and a fantastic bar with excellent wine selection, not to mention some of the best bartenders in Huntsville;

What needs work: The hotel itself is a bit on the old side; wifi is. extremely. slow;

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentflyer_02111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

I don't know what the daily rate is but on my stay it was 35,000 Hilton Honors points. Honestly in the future I will probably stay at the Hilton Garden Inn for 25,000 pts per night given that gold members get free breakfast at Hilton Garden inn so the 10,000 pts more per night is not worth the difference in hotels. We stayed at the HIlton Garden Inn last year & it was great - neither hotel is better than the other, especially if you don't need 2 seperate rooms.

It's a nice Embassy. some of the carpet is begining to show some wear, it was rather rippled in the hall on the 8th floor. The managers evening reception was nice with a good selection of drinks and snacks. All the staff is very professional & cordial. We dined in the bar one night & the food (from Ruth's Chris) is very good. The bartender seemed new so service was lacking a bit but she was very personable. The room was clean. The location is excellent with the park nearby & many restaurants in walking distance.

If you need to stay in DT Huntsville I would recommend this Embassy

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sammowhammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown
4.7 mi away
The Westin Huntsville
The Westin Huntsville
#16 of 53 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville / Research Park Area
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown
3.7 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#6 of 53 in Huntsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa

Property: Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
Address: 800 Monroe St SW, Huntsville, AL 35801-5576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Huntsville
#5 Family Hotel in Huntsville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Huntsville
#15 Business Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Huntsville- Hotel & Spa is connected to the Von Braun center via a Skybridge. Enjoy the convenience of being downtown near the Huntsville Museum of Art and Big Spring Park. Relax at Spa Botanica, our on-site spa or dine in our award-winning restaurant, Ruth's Chris. Book your stay now for a wonderful Huntsville, AL hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing