We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Change at Hilton not business traveler friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
“Change at Hilton not business traveler friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

While I have been pleased in the past, the new improved internet service is a poor excuse to grab additional $$ from the client. They have a free service now that is only good for email and is slow at that. If you want something fast enough to use remote desktop or do any kind of file transfer you must sign up and pay for a Premium service. Previously it was complementary and I could easily work remotely from there. Considering the cost of the room and then needing to purchase an upgrade to use reasonable speed internet will be a show stopped in the future. I certainly hope Hilton reconsiders the idea of this otherwise business travelers will continue to move on to another hotel and chain that will provide the needed services in one package.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justme429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to let us know how your stay was. Our staff reads our comments and it helps us improve, the internet is a 90 day beta test Hilton is conducting and this will help. We look forward to seeing you again.
Thank You
Debra Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    123
    49
    20
    13
See reviews for
149
77
21
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel is must like your average business travler hotel. They do make you feel welcome but the breakfast is average and the servers are over worked and can't keep up. The sleep was good and it is not very noisy, at least when I've stayed there. I would recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: No suggestions
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Overall the stay was very good. Good location, easy access to the airport and major highways. Could improve on desk lighting, but than again, that is my pet issue. Parking was good. Staff associates were very friendly both at check in and out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to let us know how your stay was. Our staff reads our comments and it helps us improve. We look forward to seeing you again.
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night. The hotel was a bit dated but was very clean. The staff was very nice and helpful! Beds are comfy. The bath tub area needs updating. There were some rusty spots around some of the fixtures, other than that, we have no other complaints. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie2074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to let us know how your stay was. Our staff reads our comments and it helps us improve. We look forward to seeing you again.
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Here’s a quick checklist of things that are important to a frequent business traveler. Explanations follow further below:
1. Quick friendly check-in: 100%.
2. Parking convenience: 100%.
3. Snack / water: 100%.
4. Bathroom fan: 100%.
5. Clock time accuracy: 100%.
6. Happy hour / bar staff: 100%.
7. Breakfast staff: 100%.
8. Gym: I didn’t work out.
Other – The hotel clientele is mostly business travelers. It’s a typical HGI, fairly small and not crowded. No frills, no complaints.
Explanations of items above:
1. For Gold and Diamond customers, Hilton promises quick check-in using your credit card on file so that you don’t have to dig out your card. This worked perfectly. Later, I couldn’t print my boarding pass in the business center because the printer was out of toner, so the clerk let me use the computer and printer behind the check-in desk.
2. Free convenient parking.
3. Hilton offers their Gold and Diamond customers some type of snack / water depending on the hotel. At HGIs they offer two bottles of water at check-in. This was done as expected.
4. The bathroom fan worked.
5. Hilton clocks cannot have their time adjusted by the guest. This is good. The time was accurate.
6 & 7: I like nice friendly people.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiltonDiamondMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We enjoyed our stay... But we ran into our first problem when we tried to check in. We booked our room through their website & arrived and was told we didnt have a room- although I got an email confirmation and was charged to my account. The people at the front desk told us to call hilton's number online and cancel our room, but it was passed 4pm and the man on the phone told us we couldn't. We tried to explain that the hotel told us to call them to cancel in order to book another room, but I'm guessing it never went through, even when they agreed. (Why was I calling Hilton, when I was AT Hilton?? Stupid) We waited an hour at the front desk to get this fixed and we ended up being late for a meeting. A few days later we called to get this fixed and we keep getting told the extra charge isnt showing up on their end. It's been 3 weeks, and I have emailed them info to show them the charges, and called and I never get called back after they say they will call me to go over it again.... Will I every get my $250 back?? Great hotel, but DON'T book online through their website....

Room Tip: Don't book online through the Hilton site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RyandDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience, after investigating the double charge we only charged you once.The second charge you incured was from the Hilton Garden Inn South due to a reservation you made with that hotel and failed to cancel.
I am sorry for the confussion and hope to see you again soon.

Debra Luke
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Space Center
4801 Governors House Dr
Huntsville, AL 35805
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

It was a friendly hotel but the breakfast for $9.95 was not a savings. I could have stayed at a cheaper hotel with free breakfast. Our room was right by the lobby so a bit noisy at times. The room was fresh and clean. I would stay again if the price is lower or breakfast is free. The heater was also broken in the hot tub area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andersoncrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra L, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your response, we reliaze a lot of hotels include breakfast but they serve immitation eggs and pre cooked food, we pride ourself on having cooked to order fresh eggs, omlets, bisquets and gravey and a large variety of other options to coose from all for $9.95.
Hopefully we will see you again when you are in our area.

Sincerly
Debra L Luke, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville / Research Park Area
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Huntsville
Hampton Inn Huntsville
#5 of 54 in Huntsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Huntsville Marriott
Huntsville Marriott
#17 of 54 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Westin Huntsville
The Westin Huntsville
#15 of 54 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
2.9 mi away
Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
Address: 4801 Governors House Dr SW, Huntsville, AL 35805-3104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Huntsville
#10 Business Hotel in Huntsville
#12 Family Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center hotel, conveniently located off Interstate 565 and less than one mile from the U.S. Space & Rocket Center, Huntsville Botanical Gardens, the University of Alabama-Huntsville and the main gate to Redstone Arsenal. Business travelers will enjoy our Huntsville hotel being close to Cummings Research Park as well as a variety of shopping and dining options at Bridge Street Town Center. Companies with offices near our hotel include Boeing, Telcordia, Lockheed Martin, Raytheon and Northrop Grumman. This hotel has two event rooms totaling 1,150 sq. ft. that can be divided for smaller functions. Hold a meeting for 10 potential clients in our Apollo Boardroom or a reception for 90 guests in our Saturn Room. Ask our banquet staff for catering suggestions. Select from 101 guest rooms and suites, featuring two queen-sized beds or one king-sized adjustable Garden Sleep System(R) bed. Each room is furnished with a TV, a microwave, coffeemaker, and refrigerator. Stay connected to family and colleagues via complimentary WiFi. Order evening room service or dine at the Great American Grill restaurant. Unwind with a drink from the Pavilion Lounge on the patio or a workout in the pool or fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Hotel Huntsville
Hilton Huntsville
Huntsville Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing