We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need to do better”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Betty Mae's Restaurant
Ranked #101 of 594 Restaurants in Huntsville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Need to do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

The first time we went the oven was broke they were fixing it while we ordered,the owner&the lady doing the order got into a bad argument in front of us, the owner is only friendly to ppl she knows, the food is good, but can do without the cock roaches, she needs to make real mac n cheese instead of starting Velveeta in a pot on top of the stove and calling it mac n cheese it's watery and bland taste like the mac n cheese from a box
The sweet potato pie is the die ffor it's good so is the chicken&dressing but we must do bttr

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DivaTe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Soul Food in Town!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

If you want soul food that taste like your grandmother made it, then Betty Mae's in Huntsville AL is the place to go!! Mouth watering Neck bones, Fried Chicken, Fish, and a lot more meats to choose from seasoned to the Tee. The vegetables are cooked fresh daily and are delicious!!!! And then to top it all off, they have the best kool-aid in town. The service is wonderful and you are greeted with a smile! So if you want some good down home cooking, go check out Betty Mae's Restaurant where you go in hungry and come out sleepy, with a to go bag because its so much food you cant eat it all in one sitting! It is located on Grace St. off of Oakwood. Try It for yourself, I promise you wont be disappointed!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
354 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Indcredibe Slap your Momma Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I only discovered this place about a year ago and I am so glad I did as are a ton of my friends. I have brought a lot of people here and recommended it and everyone has said it is the best Soul Food and food in town! The fried chicken is fresh and not cooked until you get there. It has incdredible batter and is so good!!!
The green beans, pintos, collards and cornbread are some of the best you will get. Friday is Salmon patty day and they are some of the best Salmon Patties, i have ever had.
Save room for dessert. Sweet Potato Pie, Red Velvet Cake, lemon cake and Peach Cobbler that is the best.
The people are genuinely friendly and appreciate your business.
Sunday's are chitlin days so it is a REAL place!!
Go there and thank me later!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartyHuntsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
257 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Excellent Soul Food Takeout”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I give their "home cooking" a five.

I rate their dining area a 2. So, most people order their meals to go.

Grace Street is about two small blocks east of north Parkway. I.e., from Oakwood drive, turn south onto Grace Street.

(My GPS took me there.)

This is in a low-rent area by CASA and near automotive machine shops. You can park in the gravel parking lot by the restaurant, or on the street.

They serve lunch every day except Saturday.

$7.99 daily, and $9.99 Sundays.

Friendly waitress.

http://bettymaessoulfood.com/

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulaski, Tennessee
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

If you want the best meal you could possibly buy in a restaurant, go here. I mean it. Forget any other place, even the fancy ones! This is it!!!! I was blown away! I have paid ridiculous amounts of money for food that could not hold a candle to this. All I can say is try it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Betty Mae's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Betty Mae's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing