We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Memorial!”

U.S. Veterans Memorial Museum
Ranked #4 of 68 things to do in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Huntsville Alabama, The U.S. Veterans Memorial Museum is one of the premier military museums in the world. The exhibits of memorabilia, artifacts, and military equipment range from the American Revolutionary War to present day. Included in the collection are many rare and important artifacts including the oldest surviving jeep: the Ford Pygmy.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stroller parking
Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Memorial!”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Opened in 2013, this memorial to Veterans of all Wars, sits in Downtown Huntsville just off of I565. With compelling sculptures and design, this makes a great place to reflect on the sacrifices so many have made for our country.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MadTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    42
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great mall but well done Memorial”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Is pretty safe, kept clean and near downtown, make sure to check out the train depot nearby and the old fashioned hardware store Lewters across the street.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank YET12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Pine, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great day of military history”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Looking for something to do and your are interested in military history. This is a must see showing of military clothing ,guns , tanks and other equipment. With the help of a volunteer ,we had almost a complete guided tour. It about a four hour day if your are interested .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RSHA9268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everyone should visit at least once!!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This museum gives great insight to our heritage as a nation and to the great courage of our fighting men from the revolutionary war through modern day. I felt it was time well spent. A great lesson in history that every family should see. The volunteer staff was extremely knowledgeable and willing to share. We obtained great insight about our nations history by visiting this museum. They have so many rare vehicles and weapons.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The museum was a bit hard to find as it was a little way off Airport Road in a non-descript building; however, for history buffs and those who served or had family members who served in the military, this is a great find. There are more military items than you'd expect from the size of the place, and every war and non-war time period of history are well represented. There are military helicopters, tanks, and jeeps of all sizes and sorts. There are uniforms and items from service members, many of which were items I had not seen prior. The representatives of the museum are passionate about their service and their work at the museum, and they are a wealth of knowledge and friendly. The admission price was just $5 for adults and the museum is non-profit. My husband spent 20 years in the Army, and he was truly happy to have seen the items in this place and the good that has been done to preserve and honor the items. Worth visiting for sure, if you have a place in your heart for the military.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pettite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U.S. Veterans Memorial Museum also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Veterans Memorial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing