We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An abundance of salt”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Alana Shay - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Alana Shay
Cuisines: American, Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
birmingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An abundance of salt”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Ate at the restaurant during breakfast and chose the buffet. Everything I ate, besides the cook to order omelette was extremely salty. Will order everything else from the menu next time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ashley f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to dine”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Wow! this place is beautiful. I was hoping the food would be too. I have only eaten lunch there and it was good. I had the crab cakes and the pear salad. Both were good. I hope to have dinner there soon.
This restaurant is located in the Double Tree Hotel which has been decorated to the NINES. This is something Huntsville needed badly. The decor is fabulous.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank motherofthebride23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummm!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice atmosphere. Excellent service. Ridiculously good cheesecake. Crab cakes were authentic. Swordfish with greens, beans, succotash was so yummy....pleasantly surprised by the combo! Steak was good. Carrots were served cold. Everything could've been served a little more warm. Other than that, fantastic dinner!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oscarbrough1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent fine dining”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The food and atmosphere were terrific. the wine selection, while small, had very good choices. I enjoyed all three of my meals very much

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A true gem!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We enjoyed Cafe Alana Shay for cocktails, lunch and dinner. Everything we had was exceptional. Being a Gulf Coast girl I'm a bit hard to impress when it comes to seafood....the crab cakes did just that. The chef is creative and talented. The desserts were simply scrumptious. We were at the DoubleTree all week and truly enjoyed happy hour and the Alana Shay Lounge every day....they never failed to put smiles on our faces. The staff knows the menu and are able to describe the dishes perfectly...also well trained in customer service. ( a rarity these days) A wonderful dining experience in every way.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Alana Shay also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing