We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Will be visiting for my 4th time "not soon enough" :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Alana Shay - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Alana Shay
Cuisines: American, Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
91 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Will be visiting for my 4th time "not soon enough" :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I love Cafe Alana Shay! Briefly, the crab cake appetizer (tried it at lunch) and the fried green tomato appetizer (again, at lunch), were excellent. Service is good. Menu not overpriced. Decor of newly remodeled hotel is funky swank. I tried the sweet tea chicken at my 2nd lunch visit and it was exceptional! A huge chicken breast, with crispy skin/crust and a light, slightly sweet, yet savory flavor. The greens and acommanying potatoes were excellent, too. The pool area is fun to hang out in and the lobby is bright and cheery. The bar, although small, is cozy with friendly staff who aim to please and friendly patrons, some local, some travelling. Bottom line: good food at a good value and thank goodness, delicious eating withing reasonable distance of Redstone Arsenal!!!!!! Hope you try Cafe Alana Shay, you won't be sorry!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jewel10430620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Dora
2 reviews
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Loved the decor and dinner was amazing! Friendly staff made the night complete. I must try - we will be back!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
345 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch or dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have eaten here many times for lunch and one time for dinner. The hotel has made a lot of nice rennovations and it is a really cool looking hotel.

Jimmy Boyce, one of Huntsville's top Chefs, has created a nice place to eat in South Hsv. The fish and sandwiches and salads are very good and the service is excellent as well.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MartyHuntsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ok but expensive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I was given 2 breakfast vouchers but they were for the buffet only. I wanted to order off the menu, so the vouchers did not cover the meal. The food was ok but over priced!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I have had in Huntsville.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband and I went to dinner with friends- a rarity these days. I shared the crab-cake appetizer with my husband. They were delicious and velvety maybe the best I have had. For dinner I had the Beef Short-ribs- incredible! We were so full we didn't have dessert. My friend had Salmon- she said it was delicious, My husband had sworfish. Mine was the best.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jacksmom44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Alana Shay also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing