We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting atmosphere, uninteresting value”
Review of Drake's Huntsville

Drake's Huntsville
Ranked #55 of 601 Restaurants in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: A restaurant that loves beer and a bar that loves food. Over 20 craft beers on tap, big burgers and the freshest sushi in town. Your go-to for lunch, dinner and late-night, Drake's is a free-wheeling, fun-loving kind of joint. A place to hang out and let your hair down. A place to let yourself go a little. Come play!
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Interesting atmosphere, uninteresting value”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

In town on business and some colleagues told me about a new spot they wanted to try. Driving up it looked interesting with an open/outdoor feel to it, inside the decor was different and fun. After that though everything else went down hill...the drinks were overpriced, the food was overcooked, and after being sold on a $9 beer because it came with a glass, when we got the bill we were told they conveniently ran out of glasses. Not five minutes later we see an employee taking a stack of said glasses to the back, which we figured were going to the employees. Needless to say, we won't be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    44
    19
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
281 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Revising Downward”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was my fourth time at Drake's and maybe my last. It is getting pricey and the quality just is not keeping up. I can get the same or better for less elsewhere. The chaotic nature of the noise level seems to be going up as well. This last time the volume of the music went up and down. Someone was 'upping' their favorite songs to the point that the speakers were max'ing out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Umfrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food and Fun atmosphere”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The staff is great! Love to eat in the open air patio. The food is really good with everything from typical bistro fare to really good sushi.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bmkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
289 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Burgers were really good, service...not so much!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Burgers were great. Would have been better without wheat bun. Order the minis for white bread! Fried pickles were a great appetizer. Our waitress was clueless, didn't keep our drinks filled.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rsavell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great atmosphere for enjoying time with your friends!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

A very pleasant experience! Wait staff was exceptional, never had an empty glass, but neither were they harassing. Patio seating. Great music. Highly recommended!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank briteyes72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drake's Huntsville also viewed

 

Been to Drake's Huntsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing