We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food BEST SERVICE”
Review of Texas Roadhouse

Texas Roadhouse
Ranked #57 of 598 Restaurants in Huntsville
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food BEST SERVICE”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I ate at the Texas Roadhouse in Huntsville last night and had the best waiter we have ever had! His Name was David (I think he said his last name started with an S) and he was phenomenal! I asked his name because we are going to ask for him EVERY time we go back and will wait to be seated in his section if we have to. That is how good he was! He was right on top of everything and made some great suggestions. There were several times we did not have to ask for anything. He would bring out our drink refills in a different glass every time. He kept the table cleaned, checked on us often and even sent our drinks with us in to go cups. He knew everything to ask and even brought out extras that we loved and forgot to ask for. We told him we were on low carb diets (hated to waste the bread and cinnamon butter he brought to the table right away) so he knew not to ask us if we wanted dessert. lol He was prompt in everything he did AND he was funny! We definitely recommend this restaurant and I would definitely recommend you ask for David! They have a juke box up front that is free and you can add your list of songs. You can hand pick your steaks in the front before being seated too. They have a barrel of peanuts you can eat out of and leave the shells on the floor. They have buckets of peanuts on the tables as well. The atmoshpere is great and the restaurant was clean. The table and bench seats were clean and so was the silverware. We even enjoyed watching the staff dance every once in a while and they make a big cute deal out of birthdays by everyone singing and they put the birthday person on a saddle (on a stool) by their table. Not only was the food really good but the atmosphere was a lot of fun. Every once in a while just about all the wait staff dances at the same time in the aisles. We had the whole rack of ribs this time with side salads and they were awesome. Not Rainforest awesome but awesome in their own right! The salad was fresh and the sauce on the ribs was phenomenal! I even made a mistake writing down the amount after the tip and he came back to the table to bring it to my attention for me to fix even though it would be a little less money for him. We did tip him very well because he did an excellent job. It's nice to go out and be treated like, Oh, we did a call ahead since this restaurant is usually always busy with a long wait especially on Friday and Saturday nights and we were seated as soon as we walked in. That was a big plus for us too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tammiewins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    21
    21
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Summerfield, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
330 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We enjoyed the casual atmosphere and the free peanuts to eat and throw on the floor, if you want. I had the 1/2 rack of ribs, and they were excellent. My wife had an appitizer with fried cheeze, potato skins and she said they were amazing. Will return to try other selections.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average Steak Great Sides”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This restaurant is much like other "roadhouse" restaurants. Prices are about the same as any other place like this. The steaks were average, but sides are fantastic! Best fires and green beans I have ever had at a restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Texas Roadhouse is FAR from Texas Quality”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have eaten at this particular location several times. Each time is has been good....not great, but good. We recently ate there on June 15th - party of 6. We used call ahead seating so when we arrived (they will not seat you unless your entire party is present) we quickly had a table. Our first clue that this may not be a good night is that on our way to our table the young man seating us told us that it was really busy, it was going to get worse, etc. It was a Saturday night....what do you expect.....but there was no waiting time at this time....5:00 p.m. The brought us the yummy rolls right away. We were not offered any water at all during our entire dining experience. We had to ask for silverware and napkins on several occasions...until a person in our party finally got up and went to ask for silverware. It was then delivered by way of a young lady stopping by our table and dropping the silverware and running off. (It was now 5:35) During this time, our waiter had taken our drink order (still no water for our table). We had asked him for silverware and napkins twice. We placed our dinner order at the same time we placed our drink order. At 6:15 a member of the waitstaff came by our table to inform us that it is taking so long because two of us had ordered shrimp and they wanted to make sure it was fresh just for us! Excuse me? Shrimp takes 5 minutes to cook. Fresh? I specifically asked the waitstaff member at this time if the shrimp was fresh or frozen. He assured us it was fresh. One member ordered ribs and the 3 other members of our party ordered primerib, medium rare. No appetizers were ordered. Salads came out fairly quickly. Our meal was delivered to our table at about 6:40. The shrimp was so fresh that it was cold! (pun intended). The rice was cold. The sweet potato was shriveled up and not appetizing looking (though that did taste good any way). Rather than send it back both of us in the party who ordered shrimp simply ate what we could, left most of the rice on the plate. We did tell the waiter that our food was cold. The person who ordered ribs reported that one part of the ribs was hot....one part of the ribs was cold. So he ate the hot ribs and brought the cold ones home. All in all....this was a very unpleasant experience. Cold food, less than attentive staff, excuses for everything (even before excuses were needed). It will be a VERY LONG TIME, if ever, that the six of us will be visiting this particular Texas Roadhouse....or maybe any Texas Roadhouse for that matter.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank islasusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Affordable Family Fun!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere. Food very good and prices excellent. Wait times a little long on Friday and Saturday.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inklot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Roadhouse also viewed

 

Been to Texas Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing