We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Alternative to Connors”
Review of Tavern at Bridge Street - CLOSED

Tavern at Bridge Street
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Madison, Georgia
Level Contributor
322 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A Great Alternative to Connors”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Tavern is rapidly becoming our favorite Huntsville restaurant. Not as busy/packed as nearby Connors' Steakhouse, the Tavern offers an equally impressive menu and wine and beer list. Our favorite night is Wednesday to partake in half price wine bottles. The food is great, and the service first class. Plus the prices are probably a little less than the competition. Our favorite is their home made potato chips w/ blue cheese crumbles and their prime rib is equally flavorful. I recently hosted a work dinner their in their private dining room and no one left disappointed. Can't say enough about how much I love their food and service - and no waiting!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bosox61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
139 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very Good Lunch”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was a very good place for lunch. Portion sizes are large, taste is good price is a little expensive. I will go back to try their dinner menu

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Service and Good Food!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

After months of passing this place by, I finally decided to give it a try on date night. The place inside is actually smaller than it appears from the outside, but that was really of no consequence sine there was no wait when we arrived or when we left. Every table was filled, though, so it's a pretty popular place.

I was surprised that for a place with the word "tavern" in the name, that there wasn't much pub-type food (like buffalo wings). The menu choices were actually pretty slim, just one page, but there was a list of lunch specials on the back. I finally settled on a potato soup and the grilled shrimp for dinner. Service was very friendly, but food delivery took a bit long (possibly because it was a weekend). The potato soup was fairly bland, but the grilled shrimp were awesome and quite filling!

I would return, maybe for lunch next time. Good atmosphere and decent food overall, but the menu could use a little help.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pammommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nothing Special...birthday dinner...”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Went with family of six to celebrate birthday (adults) as per request of the birthday boy. Service was good. Were seated beside the entrance to the kitchen. Waiters & servers were all over & around us to the point that we were concerned about collisions. It wasn't their fault. No other way to do their jobs, I guess. Started with the wedge salad & Caesar salad. Both were large. That's the best I can say. Love the blue cheese on wedge salads...very little on it...it was average. Caesar salad was good. Pork chops where extremely salty, almost too salty to eat. Filet was good. Cooked well. French fries were abundant , crispy & tasty. Cheeseburger was tasty too. Over all, we were disappointed. Probably won't go again. Great location near the theater on a corner but food wasn't up to par.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Standard pub fare with great service!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Slightly upscale tavern food. Stopped in for a post movie drink and snack. Wine selection by the glass was nothing special, but they have some good beers on tap. It was good enough.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPBowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern at Bridge Street also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing