We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Venue for our Rehearsal Dinner”

Huntsville Museum of Art
Ranked #17 of 79 things to do in Huntsville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: From Norman Rockwell to Hudson River School Landscapes and everything in between, the Huntsville Museum of Art is a must-see on your next visit to Huntsville! The Huntsville Museum of Art sits in Big Spring Park, the epicenter of the dynamic and evolving city center that is Downtown Huntsville, Alabama and works as a magnet for cultural activities. Stop by today and see the Museum's permanent collection of art, along with a wide variety of well-known traveling exhibitions. The Museum also has a large interactive children's gallery! Visit the hsvmuseum.org for all of the current and upcoming exhibitions. Founded in 1970 by city ordinance of the Museum Board of the City of Huntsville, the Museum serves Huntsville and Madison County's combined population of 420,000 residents. The mission statement of the Museum is to bring people and art together through acquiring, preserving, exhibiting and interpreting the highest quality works of art.
Reviewed August 29, 2017

We had our son's rehearsal dinner in the Maxwell room overlooking Big Spring Park. We had 57 guests and the room was absolutely perfect. Lil was a dream to work with and made the whole process of planning an event from out of town easy and enjoyable. Our guests that were not involved in the wedding rehearsal had the opportunity to visit the galleries while they waited for the wedding party. The room was beautiful, the view breathtaking, and the weather mild enough to enjoy the patio/balcony.

Thank mommln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha N, Public Relations Manager at Huntsville Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Thank you very much for the positive review! Lil is definitely a treasure and we are so happy that you and your family were pleased with the facility rental process. Congratulations on the wedding!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"permanent collection"
in 9 reviews
"big spring park"
in 6 reviews
"norman rockwell"
in 2 reviews
"on the small side"
in 2 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 5 reviews
"children's area"
in 3 reviews
"sculptures"
in 6 reviews
"sterling"
in 2 reviews
"photos"
in 6 reviews
"galleries"
in 2 reviews
"treasure"
in 2 reviews
"video"
in 2 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 93 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2017

We visited here recently for the first time. I guess it is on the small side and you can run through it in 30 minutes, but if you take your time to appreciate the collections, hours are needed. We saw an Audubon collection that was very interesting. We also saw the sterling and less fine silver animal collection donated by a Huntsville citizen. I do not know if these are permanent, but they were amazing. The children's area is worth it if you have children, and Time Tunnel was worth the time. This is a very nice museum and represents Huntsville well.

1  Thank drj999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha N, Public Relations Manager at Huntsville Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Thank you very much for the positive review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time in Huntsville, Alabama and that you chose to visit the Huntsville Museum of Art. The Audubon collection you mentioned is a travelling exhibit from the collection of Kathy and Michael Mouron of Birmingham, Alabama. The silver animal collection, Buccellati: A Silver Menagerie, is part of the Museum's permanent collection and is always a crowd pleaser! The Buccellati exhibit was donated by Betty Grisham of Huntsville and we are proud to hold the world’s largest public collection of Buccellati's unique works of art. Thank you again for visiting us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017

I took my mother (who is in a wheelchair) after we dropped my son off at Space Camp on Sunday. After a snafu with the handicapped enterance, we were able to easily navigate the galleries and see every exhibit that was open.

We really enjoyed the glass and silver sculpture as well as the children's gallery. The stuff was very attentive and made sure we were taken care of, even allowing us to exit out of a closed part of the museum so we could get to our car easier.

Definitely worth a stop if you are in the Huntsville area.

Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha N, Public Relations Manager at Huntsville Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Thank you very much for your positive review! We are fortunate to have a dedicated team of professional and friendly people who pride themselves on their customer service. We are glad that you and your mother enjoyed your visit and hope that you visit us again soon. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2017 via mobile

While not gigantic nor having a stupendously large collection it carries itself very well.
Collection is eclectic and has something for everyone. Not to be missed in the children's area ( almost seems misplaced) is section called a Trip through Time, which covers the history of human art from pre history through the 1970s. Concise and well illustrated it is a very fine history course in 20 minutes and unique among the dozens of art museums I have visited.

Also seen was a vast collection of chairs, yes chairs, from all over the world with an emphasis on those that broke new ground or otherwise established precedents.

Permanent collection covers multiple genres and is housed on one floor. Not overwhelming in size like the Art Institute of Chicago it does have most bases covered in an efficient setting.

Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha N, Public Relations Manager at Huntsville Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Thank you very much for the positive review! We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Huntsville Museum of Art. The Art of Seating was a fun and fascinating travelling exhibit and we are pleased you were able to view it during its display in Huntsville!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2017 via mobile

Overall the Museum of Art is nice but tiny. I mean in 20/30 minutes you can see it all. The art is nice and it's very quiet in there. Kind of pricey for such a small museum.....

Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha N, Public Relations Manager at Huntsville Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Thank you very much for the positive review! We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Huntsville Museum of Art and we hope that you view our galleries again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huntsville Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Huntsville Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing