We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best museums we've seen!”

Huntsville Museum of Art
Ranked #17 of 69 things to do in Huntsville
Attraction details
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“One of the best museums we've seen!”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Cannot say enough positive things about this beautiful museum. The various artists' works are unlike any we've seen. The had an exhibition of contemporary southern art called "The Red Clay Survey" which was extraordinary. Had lunch at the restaurant there called Pan E Vino. Ordered a 12" Van Gogh Pizza and was one of the best pizzas we've ever eaten! Had cannolli's for dessert and they were delicious! A wonderful lunch. Afterwards, we sat by the nearby lake and watch the ducks. Please don't miss going to this museum!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EdmarSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    36
    9
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Laceys Spring, Alabama, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Little Treasure in Huntsville”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

A lovely little art museum. The exhibits change just frequently enough. Great display space. Love it.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Incredible Art in a Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I took my daughter (11), her friend and great-grandma to the HMOA today. What a great time we all had! First, MILITARY GET IN FREE this summer until Labor Day! :) There were 4+ exhibits, and all were comprised of various mediums, subjects and a wide range of artists. There was an educational exhibit on the history of art, and then an interactive children's art room which was cool! Be sure to go through the "orientation room" and then to the left or you'll miss a bunch. Staff was friendly, not snobby. And afterwards there is the large park, pond, ducks and a fabulous little pizzeria (Pane e Vino) tucked beside it. Lovely afternoon

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is a smaller museum of art, so of course, it would be unreasonable to expect a huge array of famous artists being displayed. My issue was more with the personnel. My friend and I were basically stalked by a security person throughout our visit. We are both professional working women and were dressed in business attire. We are not shady looking characters, so it was a bit strange to be followed like we were. It made for an awkward viewing experience, and I have not returned. I will say that the art that I saw that day was local and interesting.

Helpful?
Thank MaryOttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stimulating and Beautiful sitting on Big Spring Park”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The Huntsville Museum of Art sits along the shore of Big Spring Park and houses over 2,500 wonderful pieces of art in the permanent collection, plus offers seasonal rotating exhibits each year. The facilities are lovely, the setting gorgeous. Whether visiting our area or a full time resident, The Huntsville Museum of Art has something for everyone. Eat in the lower level restaurant Pane Vino for a real treat after your tour.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Blake L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huntsville Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Huntsville Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing