We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Huntsville Museum of Art
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Nice regional museum heavy on Southern art

Had a nice visit- several galleries were closed off for installation of new shows. They did have a... read more

Reviewed March 7, 2018
jfadds
,
chicago
Ecclectic Collection and friendly staff

I took my mother (who is in a wheelchair) after we dropped my son off at Space Camp on Sunday... read more

Reviewed July 18, 2017
Janet D
,
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Read all 95 reviews
  
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
43
36
9
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
36
9
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews permanent collection norman rockwell sterling silver glass pieces nice little gift shop on the small side worth a visit children's area sculptures photos galleries treasure video
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very nice art museum to visit. Clean, interesting, nice little gift shop. Staff very friendly and always smiling. We will visit again. I would love to see it expand even further.

Thank HehMommy256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

Wasn't expecting much from this place, but they had some REALLY interesting pieces, including several 925 Sterling silver sculptures that were phenomenol and some very cool glass pieces.

Thank rr1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

It's a nice place for the size. Very many interesting pieces of art work. Has a place for kids. Good place if you like to look at different pieces of art.

Thank Brittany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

On a hot summer day there is NO better place to be! Very Cool and loads of Great Art! We saw the West Point Display, and some great local artist work! The staff is very knowledgeable and helpful!

Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2018

Had a nice visit- several galleries were closed off for installation of new shows.
They did have a nice exhibit of the last years acquisitions- both by purchase and gifting,
Worth a stop to see what is going on

Thank jfadds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha N, Public Relations Manager at Huntsville Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Thank you so much for the positive review! We hope you visit us again when all of the galleries are open. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2018 via mobile

We went for the Norman Rockwell exhibit. Entrance fee was $12 each but we were intrigued to see his work. They were in the middle of getting some things hung for another exhibit. Didn’t take time to see anything else. (Photos were not taken at the museum and represent only some things we experienced)

Thank Golulumax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha N, Public Relations Manager at Huntsville Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Thank you for visiting the Huntsville Museum of Art and thank you for leaving us a positive review! We hope you visit our galleries again. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2017 via mobile

The Norman Rockwell exhibit is such a joy. His art brings smiles and fun back and combined with the video was one of my favorite visits to the museum. We especially loved the room of the counterfeited pieces and the story behind it. The Cut Out Cut Up was unusual and incredibly varied. Some enjoyable but some incredibly odd. However very much worth a visit.
We are members and consider the museum a treasure.

1  Thank cindyannsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha N, Public Relations Manager at Huntsville Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Thank you so much for the positive review and for continuing to visit and support the Huntsville Museum of Art!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017

We had our son's rehearsal dinner in the Maxwell room overlooking Big Spring Park. We had 57 guests and the room was absolutely perfect. Lil was a dream to work with and made the whole process of planning an event from out of town easy and enjoyable. Our guests that were not involved in the wedding rehearsal had the opportunity to visit the galleries while they waited for the wedding party. The room was beautiful, the view breathtaking, and the weather mild enough to enjoy the patio/balcony.

Thank mommln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha N, Public Relations Manager at Huntsville Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Thank you very much for the positive review! Lil is definitely a treasure and we are so happy that you and your family were pleased with the facility rental process. Congratulations on the wedding!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017

We visited here recently for the first time. I guess it is on the small side and you can run through it in 30 minutes, but if you take your time to appreciate the collections, hours are needed. We saw an Audubon collection that was very interesting. We also saw the sterling and less fine silver animal collection donated by a Huntsville citizen. I do not know if these are permanent, but they were amazing. The children's area is worth it if you have children, and Time Tunnel was worth the time. This is a very nice museum and represents Huntsville well.

1  Thank drj999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha N, Public Relations Manager at Huntsville Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Thank you very much for the positive review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time in Huntsville, Alabama and that you chose to visit the Huntsville Museum of Art. The Audubon collection you mentioned is a travelling exhibit from the collection of Kathy and Michael Mouron of Birmingham, Alabama. The silver animal collection, Buccellati: A Silver Menagerie, is part of the Museum's permanent collection and is always a crowd pleaser! The Buccellati exhibit was donated by Betty Grisham of Huntsville and we are proud to hold the world’s largest public collection of Buccellati's unique works of art. Thank you again for visiting us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017

I took my mother (who is in a wheelchair) after we dropped my son off at Space Camp on Sunday. After a snafu with the handicapped enterance, we were able to easily navigate the galleries and see every exhibit that was open.

We really enjoyed the glass and silver sculpture as well as the children's gallery. The stuff was very attentive and made sure we were taken care of, even allowing us to exit out of a closed part of the museum so we could get to our car easier.

Definitely worth a stop if you are in the Huntsville area.

Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha N, Public Relations Manager at Huntsville Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Thank you very much for your positive review! We are fortunate to have a dedicated team of professional and friendly people who pride themselves on their customer service. We are glad that you and your mother enjoyed your visit and hope that you visit us again soon. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews