We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Christmas Lights in Winter”

Huntsville Botanical Garden
Ranked #2 of 68 things to do in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas Lights in Winter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great to drive or walk through in December, probably from Thanksgiving to New Years. Beautiful displays of lights sponsored by various local companies. Also wonderful in the summer with the Butterfly exhibit and in early Spring with their charity plant sale.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Qwackertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    130
    35
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, varied, and large enough for extensive walking if desired”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We've visited botanical gardens in several countries and enjoyed most of them.
The Huntsville Botanical Garden was a real pleasure.
It was easily accessible for older visitors and those needing assistance, yet had lots of running room in the open for energetic children. It's large enough that none of these sorts is in the other's way.
I was surprised to discover that the live butterfly collection had more butterflies of more varieties than other butterfly exhibits we've seen in world famous European botanical gardens.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
149 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Realxing, Great for kids!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have been members of the garden for years. My kids are 3 and 5 and love it! There are activities for kids if you go on the right days, but the days without activities are my favorite. We walk the gardens and play in the water, shade, hammocks, and spend lots of time in the butterfly house. There are turtles and birds and snakes to look at.

For those who are less mobile than preschoolers, you can get a ride from a volunteer on the golf cart and see the entire garden. They can tell you about the different plants and flowers.

There's a cute shop with neat things and Clementine's for lunch is great if you didn't pack a picnic lunch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ac6804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baroda, Michigan
Level Contributor
168 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Garden/Mini Water Park FUN!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a full day trip, we were there for 6hs and kids didn't want to leave. There is so much to see and "Do" instead of just looking so we were HAPPY! Lots of small water areas for kids to play in, hammock area to relax in ahh, gem mining area set, train set with mini figures of houses n people so stinking cute and the train keeps running, Sand castle area that has a castle, large croquet and that was my FAV bc it was so different, pirate ship tree house was ehh but looked cool, after touring butterfly area the play area next to it has tons to do..........I could go on. you can bring your own picnic, many shaded areas w/tables. Bring lots of water! We all loved it. Our kids 5 & 8. I would say its the best botanical garden in the world from what I've seen so far. I'd go again. $40 for the 4 of us, well worth it being all day. I'd go again! They have free wagons to pull kids in "IF" 1 is available. And another + was it was easy to find, no stop n go traffic major plus!!! Close to rocker center and sci-quest and don't forget Harmony Safari Park where u drive thru zoo and feed animals from your car and tortoises eat from your hand. Love Huntsville

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie0693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place for a Walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

As a long time resident of Huntsville, I've found that the Botanical Gardens has grown to be one of the best local places to spend a few hours. There is usually something going on at the gardens like a special display (e.g., tree houses in the summer, scarecrows in the fall, holiday light displays from November to New Years Day) or an event (dog days in the winter, plant sales in the spring). There is a special garden for children that shouldn't be missed if you have little ones.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue-8-Cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huntsville Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Huntsville Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing