We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Terrific place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Commerce Kitchen

Commerce Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Commerce Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 583 Restaurants in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in Historic Downtown Huntsville, Commerce Kitchen serves Southern Gourmet cuisine in a bluesy bistro setting.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Love the decor and feel of the place...very classy. I've had lunch and dinner here several times. Everything is always awesome. Highly recommend. And, the ritz and pimento...it's really ritz crackers and it tastes great! My friend and I debated this before we ordered and laughed ourselves silly when it came out with actual Ritz Crackers. She thought it was a type of cheese....nope, good ole Ritz. ;) The rissoto is really good. I tried the fried green tomatoes on my first visit and just found them to be okay. Wouldn't recommend them for a country girl who knows how to make them. Everything else I've tried, I loved.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oscarbrough1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    50
    21
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midwest family
Level Contributor
97 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lunch at Commerce Kitchen”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Loved the atmosphere and the building itself, but the food was just okay. They were out of the fish selections so I settled for the fried chicken breast and sweet potato fries. Husband had Caesar salad with salmon which he enjoyed. Biggest disappointment was the sliver of pecan pie for dessert. Two bites and it was gone which was okay because it was dry and tasteless. No where near an excellent rating in my travels.

Helpful?
Thank DDaisydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in huntsville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I love commerce kitchen. The atmosphere is historic updated. A cozy 40-50 seat restaurant. The appetizers are always a little unusual but wonderful. The main dishes are great and the desserts are quirky but fantastic. They have a great wine list as well. I can't wait to go back!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank volssmokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
154 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Cute Restaurant in the Heart of downtown Huntsville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great restaurant, great service and interesting food selections. It has a limited menu for lunch, but broad enough for everyone to find something you like. Very cute and well decorated inside. We also had dessert and it was very good too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lcgovols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Real Taste of Southern Hospitality and Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I traveled to Huntsville on January 2, 2013. This place was not recommended by anyone we just happened to be going down town and saw it and walked in. It was such a good thing that we did! This place has great food and a great staff and a simple decore that is warm and inviting. The place was not busy at all. We started off with the fried green tomatoes (one order is 4 slices) which were wonderful! It is served with a housemade hot sauce and a side of ranch. They were crispy and delicious! Then for the main course my boyfriend had shrimp and grits (a southern delicacy) the grits were smooth and creamy with the shrimp cooked to perfection. I had one of their specials a brie cheese and lobster macaroni. It was rich and the lobster just melted in my mouth. Finally we ended the meal with a wonderful vanilla creme brulee which was great. Not as good as the rest of the meal but still wonderful. They didn't skimp on the shrimp or lobster either! Our server was very attentive and made sure everything was perfect. This is a definite must stop while in Huntsville, even if you are just passing through!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KrisziG2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commerce Kitchen also viewed

 
 

Been to Commerce Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing