We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find another Super 8!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Huntsville Alabama
Ranked #45 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Stoutsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Find another Super 8!”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The toilet seat was cracked. We should have gone to another hotel. Never found the breakfast area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Callahan4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    11
    28
    29
    39
See reviews for
36
22
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I wasn't particularly pleased with this hotel, but the conditions weren't surprising for this class of hotel. It was okay for the quick 2-night stay that my husband and I had, but I would do anything extensive here.

The good: the employees were very hospitable, polite and friendly. We had their full attention when speaking with them and they were apologetic when errors were made. Upon checking in, the clerk accidentally charged me for twice the amount the what supposed to be paid. My extreme annoyance was quelled by her polite apologeticness and she adjusted the bill.

The bad: these rooms are very raggedy and have outdated decor. The beds are a tad hard, although the sheets APPEARED to be clean. The bathrooms are terrible. Water pressure in the sink was low, the tubs are yellowish (supposed to be white) and the toilet runs constantly and is unsteady on its base. Shower pressure was average.

All in all, this place is okay for a very short stay. It's important to realize that you can't expect Holiday Inn service at a place like this. It served its purpose but was by no means luxurious.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyc_chik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Bed bugs!!!!!!! Poor service!!!!!! Not clean!!!!! Never again.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robpo2613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huntsville hotels

Washington, Dc
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

This motel is easy to find and is close to the Space Center. The AC, TV and Wi-Fi worked well. Otherwise, the property seems far below Super 8 standards. The rear hotel entrance had no security lock.

The worst part of my stay were the extra guests in my room and bed. I found bed bugs in the bed, roaches next to it and awoke with itchy bites all over my body. This is unacceptable!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SockFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

My stay at the Huntsville Super 8 came at the end of a long road trip through the South, during which I also stayed at Hyatt and Motel 6. While I didn’t expect the Super 8 to be the Hyatt, I did expect it to be on par with Motel 6. I was very disappointed, and I would have checked out and stayed elsewhere had there been vacancy at any of the other nearby motels and hotels (my understanding is that a convention was in town).

The property is run down and in grave need of renovation. The stairs to the third floor creaked dreadfully, and the carpet throughout the hotel was quite worn. My room was clean (no bed bugs – believe me, I checked), but the bedspread had a cigarette burn in it, the lighting was poor, and the walls looked dingey (whether this is due to the unfortunate yellow color or the fact that the walls could use a coat of paint, I don’t know).

The bed was decently comfortable, but there was quite a bit of noise coming in from the hallway and surrounding rooms, so I had a difficult time falling asleep.

By far, the biggest drawback of my stay was the bathroom. The toilet and sink were clean, but the combination tub/shower was just gross. The faucet did not work properly, and on closer inspection, the tub was dirty, and there were rust stains coming down from the shower liner. I was so put off by the shower/tub that I opted not to use it. I had spent a day on the road and had another day on the road plus a transcontinental airplane ride ahead of me, but I chose to feel grungy for another day and possibly offend my airplane seatmates with my smell rather than use this disgusting shower/tub. I have traveled a lot and been faced with many interesting bathroom arrangements, but the Huntsville Super 8 was the first time I have ever found a bathroom facility so foul that I did not use it.

I was concerned for my safety at the Huntsville Super 8. The exterior door at the end of the building remained unlocked at all hours, and I watched several transient types loiter in the parking lot. I did not feel safe going to my car after dark and stayed locked in my room.

The Huntsville Super 8 had two positive things – the staff was very pleasant, and the free wi-fi had a consistently strong signal.

Despite those two good things, my stay at the Huntsville Super 8 put a bad enough taste in my mouth that I will not stay at a Super 8 again. I advise others to avoid the Huntsville Super 8 like the plague.

  • Liked — checking out
  • Disliked — the bathtub was beyond foul
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank poetrypartners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2007

Everthing else was booked. Smoke detector beeped, bugs in room, chairs staines, and poorly maintained. The desk clerk was nice, people drinking in parking lot. Not a nice motel. Cheep towels

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cass22Gadsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2007

I thought super 8 at least should be clean.
well this place is far from it, the bathroom was dirty and the shower could not stop dripping and it is not clean, the toilet has constant running water and the top was very dusty.
the room has a smoking smell, even though it was non smoking room and it was very wet feeling, small and old.
the breakfast was pathetic.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dirty,smelly and wet, terrible breakfast
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 9tigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#44 of 53 in Huntsville
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Value Place Huntsville University Drive
3.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Huntsville
Days Inn & Suites Huntsville
#37 of 53 in Huntsville
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
America's Best Inn Huntsville
America's Best Inn Huntsville
#43 of 53 in Huntsville
12 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#6 of 53 in Huntsville
521 reviews
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Huntsville - U.S. Space and Rocket Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Huntsville Alabama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Huntsville Alabama

Property: Super 8 Huntsville Alabama
Address: 3803 University Dr NW, I-565 E Exit L on Jordan, Huntsville, AL 35816-3143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Huntsville Alabama 2*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Huntsville Alabama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Huntsville
Super Eight Huntsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing