We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Funky Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
Ranked #18 of 565 Restaurants in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Huntsville's very first Mellow Mushroom location specializing in Classic Southern Pizza with a truly original, flavorful crust. With a wide variety of hoagies, salads, vegetarian, and vegan options, we offer nearly everything you could be looking for to satisfy your hunger. We are also a premiere stop for the finest craft brews around ranging from local favorites to some of the best in the business.
Kemah, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Funky Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been to the Mellow Mushroom in Tuscaloosa several times and looked forward to this place. I prefer the very old building in downtown Tuscaloosa but this one had the same great pizza. Creative and fresh toppings with great sanwiches as well. You can't go wrong with the Italian one. Nice new building in a new area of Huntsville.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Honestbluedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    55
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Beer Selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Was surprised with the bar in this restaurant. There is a full bar with a great draft/ bottle beer selection. Also, pizza is very good. A little pricey, but it is well worth it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MSTRVLR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

You Gotta try the Bayou Blue pizza its so yummy! especially if you like low country boil. The kids menu was good for lil ones ours had the French bread pizza and Mac n cheese. Its alil more expensive than other pizza places but so worth it. Atmosphere was alil to loud for my liking but then again it was a Friday night. Would recommend to anyone who enjoys pizza.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JTowery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great pizza, good craft beer selection.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I have been eating mellow mushroom for decades. I was introduced to there pizza in a hole in the wall place in Atlanta, and we ate there often. This recent iteration of locations with fancy digs and polished atmosphere has been a shock, but surprisingly the pizza has stayed true to its roots, with fresh ingredients, unique recipes and great crust.

We switch around occasionally, but for us the Kosmic Karma is the benchmark. We have hit MM in several cities and locations and while clearly a formula is at work, each is unique. We like this location, and while we wish it had a bigger patio, the craft beer selection here is quite good. We have had a couple of so-so experiences with wait staff. While some have been stellar servers, a couple have just seemed lost.

Pizza here doesn't come out as fast as others, They are still using traditional ovens (not the convection ovens found in the pizza delivery houses) which slows things a bit, but worth the wait. Overall a great place to eat, and we do takeout occasionally as a quick alternative.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eatyourwayhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
160 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“GREAT PIZZA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

They have great pizza much different than other places in the area. There is pleanty of varity and the food is always good. One of our favorite places to go!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank RockyTop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing