We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap good. Steaks nice sides” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheddar's

Cheddar's
Ranked #53 of 593 Restaurants in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
71 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cheap good. Steaks nice sides”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

You can always afford an appetizer good prices drinks and food ! Family of 4 can eat same price you can cook it. Definite bargain for the food especially steaks

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    59
    33
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Training, training, training”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Shotty management, undertrained waitstaff, and overwelmed kitchen. The franchisor has set this place up for success but, from what I see, the owner is cutting corners at the expense of customer satisfaction. Sunday night, my party of eight waited 45 minutes for a table because they forgot about us. Then, after being split into two booths, everything throughout the order process was sooooo slooooow. I ordered two beers throughout the evening and each took ten minutes or more to arrive at the table - then the waiter looked at me like I was an idiot for asking why it took so long. The restaurant was not full but there weren't enough waitstaff on shift, probably some cost saving measure brought on by the not so genius owner. The kitchen and waiter forgot about one of the entrees. I could go on and on. We were comped 1/2 price by the incompetent manager. My sister with the big heart gave the novice waiter a $20 pity tip. That is all.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Thekeithman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham,Alabama
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great restuarant even when packed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

I came here 18 Jan and it was packed to the max. Took about 20 mins for a party of 4 which wasn't bad. If you have ever been to a Cheesecake Factory, its that sort of vibe there. The food was good and the drinks were as well. No issues happen during my dinner but because it was packed the food didn't come as fast. Apparently this restaurant is very well known so many people frequent it.

I highly recommend it will visit again if in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KaptivatingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flyenPhil
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very poor management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Went to Cheddars for dinner on Dec 23, 2013 at about 6:45PM. We walked in and the waiting area was packed. We put our name on the list and was advised it would be a 45 min wait. I figured what the heck and we went into the bar and noticed that there were several empty tables. When I walked to the bathroom with my son I looked and counted and additional 20 tables that were empty. Why are there 23 empty tables and a 45 min wait? What gives with that? I asked for the Manager and he came out and said that they did not have enough servers. He said that they had been given the day off as it was two days before Christmas. He was totally non apologetic about the wait and defended it. THis guy had not a clue in the world about what was going on. I have been to many Cheddar's and have had good experiences, ut this Huntsville AL store has major management issues. Every empty table is profits thrown right out the window, and this manager had not a clue. If I were the owner this guy would be peeling potatoes at five guys. They lost my business for good. I will go to others, but my Hometown Cheddar's is off my list

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flyenPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsv, AL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I liked it very much”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

On my first visit, there were menu item on the menu I wanted to try -- so that is a plus. There are some places that I go that very few things catch my eye (stomach). I think that for the price of the meals (relatively cheap) this is a very good restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scomack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheddar's also viewed

 

Been to Cheddar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing