We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and has the potential to be Great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1892 East

1892 East
Ranked #20 of 593 Restaurants in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good and has the potential to be Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Dinner last night consisted of the Pink snapper special, Scottish Salmon and the Shrimp sauté. The first two dishes were excellent in taste, eye appeal and temperature. The Shrimp sauté seemed to have set for a while and the couscous was less than room temp and lumpy so it was disappointing. Previously they had served the shrimp with Jasmine citrus infused rice with an assortment of veggies in a parchment bag..this dish was excellent..need to rotate it back on the menu one day. Dinner for 3 with drinks ran about 85$. Will still come back for that baby spoon spinach w/apple brie cheese and honey vinegar dressing..yum

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    41
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing dishes with locally grown food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The atmosphere is quaint in the historic five points district. Try the cheese plate and a glass of wine to start! They use locally grown food that makes fine dining comfortable and delicious.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Drinks and Apps”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I decided to get out of the house for a drink and appetizers. I had a delicous flight of beers and my wife enjoyed her wine and a martini. We ordered a few appetizers and enjoyed ourselves very much. The service was excellent--timeliness, order specifics, and knowledge of the menu. We will go back for dinner.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ALHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
91 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Try 1892 East, you will be pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We’ve celebrated Valentine’s Day, my birthday with a large group, and several other visits with friends at 1892 East. I’ve enjoyed the food in large and small groups, special occasions and just a simple weekend lunch or brunch. The bar staff are particularly attentive and helpful, if you choose to dine at the bar.

According to Executive Chef Steven Bunner: “The eatery's name comes from an early map notation regarding Five Points.”

For those who are vegetarian, 1892 East is a very vegetarian-friendly place, and even notes on their web site that Most Brunch dishes can be made vegetarian by substituting vegan sausage for bacon or ham at no charge.

On to the dining experiences:

NOTE: Their menu changes seasonally, which is nice, but makes it difficult to recall what one had at previous visits.

BRUNCH: Brunch comes with a complimentary mimosa. The steak and eggs are delicious and filling. Mom had the “Southern Benedict” – eggs Benedict on a biscuit vice an English muffin. Mom cleaned her plate! My birthday brunch was for a party of ~ 14 and there was ample seating in the separate back dining area. Food was good and mimosas flowed freely.

LUNCH: We typically order several apps to share. There is no extra cost to share a dish. I’ve had the flatbread, I think it was the “BLT flatbread” and the shrimp and grits.

DINNER: I’ve had the shrimp and grits several times, and it is a solid dish. Done differently, it seems as if the shrimp are dipped into the grits and then deep fried. The “catch of the day” was a good dinner choice at Valentine’s day. I don’t recall the type of fish. The wine list is fairly extensive offering both reasonably priced wines by the glass and by the bottle.

The only complaint I have is that the main dining area can get a little noisy as it has concrete floors and wooden tables.

Do try 1892 East, I think you will be pleasantly surprised. It appears to meet its vision of: A unique Huntsville restaurant that is defined by the food-farmer-neighbor interactions to provide the highest quality local, organic and vegetarian foods.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jewel10430620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbackville, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Artsy and Upscale in Northern Huntsville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Came here based upon a recommendation from our Innkeeper. It was an artsy and upscale small restaurant with a unique menu. I had the Louisiana shrimp, which was excellent. My spouse had the Drum, which they didn't like very much. The meal was somewhat expensive, but the food quality was good, so no complaints. It is a popular place. Why 1892? It is when Walt Whitman died.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Starr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1892 East also viewed

 

Been to 1892 East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing