We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! Great experience!”
Review of 1892 East

1892 East
Ranked #15 of 609 Restaurants in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Denver, CO
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“WOW! Great experience!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I was in Huntsville for business and picked 1892 East for one of my dinners. It is located in the Five Points neighborhood, not too far from downtown. The interior was clean and crisp, without a lot of noise. They had a good selection of draft beers from AL and GA brewers. I ordered the pork shank entree and it was...Wow! The flavors in the dish were smooth and creamy with chunks of melt in your mouth pork and smooth sweet potato puree. I was dreading the final bite since it meant I was done. I also ordered apple crisp for dessert and it was really good. Both dishes could be shared, but you'll want the whole pork shank dish for yourself. If I come back to Huntsville, I'll go back to 1892 East to try something else. Highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank just_da_fax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    46
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We love this place”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I eat at 1892 East quite often. The food is quite good with unique combinations. The staff is knowledable and friendly. Atmosphere upscale without being overly snooty. Great choice of beers. I enjoy the extremely fresh taste of locally grown items. Excellent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucytb40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A missing link in Huntsville restaurants.”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I would have to go to Atlanta to find a comparable restaurant of this kind. Now we have a great place right at Five Points.

The use of local produce enhances the quality of the meals. The staff shows great innovation when incorporating our local foods into the menu items. (Be sure to go during peach season.)

It is nice and comfortable with good service and reasonable prices.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, service and value”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We chose this restaurant to entertain friends and we were NOT disappointed. The menu was original - and fabulous. Plus, the meals and wine were reasonably priced. All at our table enjoyed their meals - fresh food, fine atmosphere, excellent service. I highly recommend this place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 1231KC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, IL
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a private party for about 20 people including children. We had a private room and a set menu and they accommodated all of our needs. Allan was our server and was attentive all night. Manager also came by to visit and helped us re-arrange the furniture for a group photo. Decor was nice and the waiter explained that the tables were built from recycled barn walls and doors.

We had cocktails and appetizers and then they put together three choices for a set menu including options for the kids. NY Strips were all grilled to order correctly; Salmon in Phyllo came in a delicious sauce and even the Chicken dish was far better than ordinary. The Butternut Soup with caramelized onions was spectacular - order it if it is on the regular menu. We brought our own birthday cake and that was no problem.

Would definitely recommend for a private party and will check out the brunch at some point as well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank therockandsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1892 East also viewed

 

Been to 1892 East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing