We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant downtown Huntsville”
Review of Papou's

Papou's
Ranked #211 of 608 Restaurants in Huntsville
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant downtown Huntsville”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My wife and I had lunch (lamb) there. Food and service was good; pricing just about right. We felt fortunate to be able to park so close.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Irate Server Alert!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have been to this restaurant about half a dozen times. The food is marginal, but I work in the area and often my first choices are packed and it is default. They have a server who has not once, but twice thrown a fit in front of patrons and acted out like a spoiled child expressing his anger. Last night we ended up there because the wait for Cotton Row was longer than we had time for, and the same waiter we saw pitch a fit over something the previous time we were there, loudly treated a trainee served like a bad dog and then proceed to yell at two patrons who decided to leave the restaurant (likely because of his ill tempered behavior). The question here is: Why does management keep this half-cocked jerk on the floor? There are plenty of better servers who need jobs. This server is disorganized and terrible....add yelling at customers to get out after chanting "tick tock - tick tock - tick tock - tick -tock" in their faces as they were trying to tell him thy they were leaving, and you have a veritable psychopath.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sissy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertville, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“They Charge for Extra Bread!!!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We went to Papous on a Saturday night and celebrated a birthday with about 14 other people. Our server was not prepared for such a large group. The drinks came quickly, the food took forever. Our table had our food half eaten before the other table was served. The food was good, but we can do as well at home. They bring out one basket of bread for the table. If one of the guests eats more than one and you ask for more, there is a charge, but they do not tell you until you get the bill. Seriously??!! I recommend Pappous for a couple, do not expect great food, and do not eat more than one piece of bread. We will not return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drj999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“VERY DELICIOUS, UNIQUE FOOD”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We ordered the Hummus, Spanikopita, Moussaka, and Baklava. It was fresh and very delicious. The only slight drawback was the bread in the Hummus plate, which did not taste quite right.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

The lunch special short ribs, turnip greens & mashed with a side of corn bread. Melt in your mouth meat seasoned to perfection. I can hardly wait for tomorrow's special! Wanted to order the weeks worth of specials today so wouldn't miss them :) Always great fast service. Don't miss your next great meal stop in.

Helpful?
Thank RLB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papou's also viewed

 

Been to Papou's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing