We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dumpy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Huntsville
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I spent 2 nights at the Candlewood in Huntsville Alabama In August 2012. The hotel looked nice from outside but was not inside. The room was dumpy with cheap looking furniture. The water out of the faucets was brown. The hotel told me when I complained that they were working on the lines. I would have liked to have been told about that at check in. The hotel gym had token equipment and was too hot. The only positives were the bed was comfortable and the AC worked well.

Room Tip: Skip this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Run26miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Huntsville, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Run26miles,

We welcome feedback especially from our valued guests like you. I am delighted to know you found our hotel exterior commendable. We are always happy to provide a consistently clean, comfortable and courteous place for our guest to stay. However, I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered with the room accommodations and condition of the water. Rest assured, your review will be forwarded to the appropriate departments and will be used to reconsider improvements needed. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 104 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

First the pluses: the Candlewood Suites Huntsville is in a great location, with easy highway access and close to a nice mall for shopping and dining. The US Space and Rocket Center is also just down the road. 1 bedroom suites are extra spacious and include a full kitchen and a huge dining/work table. The guest laundry is free of charge (detergent is $1 per load) and a welcome feature for families on the road.

Now the negatives: the property is pretty old and it shows in the room decor and general run-down feel. The hallways and the combined laundry/snack shop/exercise room/business center room are unbearably hot. During our stay, there was a leaking pipe that dripped water into the laundry room; this probably caused the fire alarm to go off randomly several times during the night, forcing confused guests into the hallway and the flustered front desk attendant to field lots of phone calls. Finally, our second floor room had a very poorly constructed floor that amplified every footstep, such that anything other than a tiptoe would come across as a loud "thump" in the room below and caused a complaint to the front desk from the guests below.

The price is right ($70 per night but breakfast not included) for such a spacious room but I would shop around for a more modern hotel next time in the Huntsville area.

Room Tip: Insist on a first floor room unless you want a call from the front desk complaining about the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwwyjjliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Huntsville, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Dear gwwyjjliu,

Thank you for giving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay here with us. I deeply apologize your stay was negatively affected by the hotel decor, unusual temperature of the facilities, condition of the room and fire alarm. I understand the discomfort this caused you. We value the opinion of our guests as this gives us the avenue to improve the quality and service that we impart. We would like to have the chance to host your next stay in Huntsville to show you our progress.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We flew into Huntsville on Sat. and out on Sunday and just needed a comfortable bed, clean bath and quiet surroundings near 565 for a good night’s sleep. Candlewood was exactly that and the price couldn’t be beat. We didn’t need the kitchen facilities, but since we had a microwave we popped the popcorn left for us and went downstairs and bought another bag. We didn’t watch much TV, but it was a nice flat screen with all the normal channels. If we’re passing through Huntsville again, we would definitely stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockyTop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This property was wonderful. The staff (Brenda and Mrs Myles) were exceptional in helping us get around the city. We had the same experience at Candlewood in Murfreesboro. I highly recommend Candlewood Suites where ever you go!!

It was kinda funny - while we were there, there was a show call "Hotel Impossible" that came on. It is about a man who goes to hotels that are in trouble and tries to get them back on track.

When he started looking at the cabinets, looking under the beds, and at the fridge, my husband started to do the same thing in our room!! Again, my favorite CANDLEWOOD Suites passed the test! Even the top of the cabinets were dust free!

If you find one in another city, that doesn't meet your expectations, let me know!!

Thank you Candewood Staff!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTSUParents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandlewoodSuites201, Manager at Candlewood Suites Huntsville, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. So glad that you enjoyed your stay.


Audrey Davis
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Me and my family were displaced due to fire and smoke damage at our home . We stayed at Candlewood Suites for 2 1/2 months. It was truly a home away from home. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and conveniently located. We can truly say even through our misfortune we enjoyed our stay. Ronnie and the housekeeping staff were awesome and was always making sure we were comfortable . I highly recommend this hotel for short or long stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cwhow77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I had never stayed at a Candlewood before, but I was pleased with what I encountered at this hotel. Friendly staff, clean rooms, and comfortable bedding make it all worthwhile. I like the Candlewood Market; it is well-stocked with foods, drinks, and other necessary items that you can pick up and charge directly to your room. Washers and dryers are readily accessible, as well as exercise equipment. The hotel is not even a mile from the Bridge Street Towne Center, with upscale restaurants, shopping, and a movie theater.

I found the rooms to be a little on the outdated side, although it appears that attempts were being made to remedy this. They are pet friendly, which is a plus. Overall, I was not disappointed with my stay, and if I had to, would come again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pammommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

As a frequent business traveler, I found this location great for DAU courses in the area. It is VERY close proximity to a local mall with great food choices, PF Chang, Cafe Laredo and a movie theater (Monaco Theater). The hotel had free internet and newspapers. Rooms come equipped with full sized refrigerators and dishwashers along with dishes, pots and pans,

Room Tip: The room I was in had a really noisy heater so I warmed my room up before I got into bed and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsWillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Huntsville / Research Park Area
2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Huntsville
Sleep Inn & Suites Huntsville
#17 of 53 in Huntsville
260 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Huntsville
Fairfield Inn Huntsville
#25 of 53 in Huntsville
126 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#18 of 53 in Huntsville
121 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Huntsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Huntsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Huntsville

Address: 201 Exchange Pl NW, Huntsville, AL 35806-2367
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Huntsville
#14 Romantic Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range: $92 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Huntsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. Brand new rooms ~ Fully renovated December 2006 At the Candlewood Suites Hotel Huntsville, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Work efficiently at your over-sized executive desk with free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD/VCR player. Borrow your favorite movies from our free DVD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. Have laundry? Wash your clothes in our complimentary washers and dryers. Earn Priority Club points for each qualifying stay.Located only 7 miles from the Von Braun Center, only minutes to Bridge Street Mall, and minutes away from Redstone Arsenal . Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. We are conveniently located off of I-565 in Huntsville, and within a 1/2 mile of the Cummings Research Park, US Space and Rocket Center, and Redstone Arsenal/Marshall Space Flight Center. We are a pet friendly hotel. Pets are allowed with a non-refundable fee based on length of stay. $75 for 1-6 nights and $150 for 7+ nights. One pet allowed per suite and must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Candlewood Suites Huntsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Candlewood Huntsville
Huntsville Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing