We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just passing through”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Huntsville
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We were passing through on our way to FL and wanted to see the Huntsville Space center, this hotel is only a mile away and near a large upscale shopping area with lots of dining choices (PF Changs etc). We got a great deal using points for a "free" stay however it turned out the hotel is under remodeling winter 2012. Luckily the laundry was open as we had a load to wash (Candlewood's offer free washer/dryers) and it was interesting to see the new black cabinet designs in our remodeled 2nd floor room since we have stayed at many Candlewood's in the past 5 years. The workers finished by 9pm so we did have a good night's sleep - only noise was this is near a train line. If you can handle some dust in the elevator the place was clean, friendly staff (the main reservations messed up and had us for the next day but the front desk honored us no problem).

Room Tip: Be aware of the train noise, may want to ask front desk which side to stay away from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SE_MN_warmth_seekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 104 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2011

Although the gal that checked us in was very accommodating - we were given a non-smoking room that someone had smoked in prior to our stay - she did put us in a better room, the staff was very noisy in the morning before 8:00 AM. Talking loud to each other while standing right outside our door then the smoking area just happened to be outside our window. At 8:15 AM they were laughing and talking outside our window... unbelievably inconsiderate. The gal that checked me out didn't even ask if we enjoyed our stay. Don't bother staying here. The shower smelled like smoke because the vent was in there and I'm sure was catching smoke from another bathroom and "bleeding" into our bathroom. I won't be back to this location or any other Candlewood Suites. Ugh.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawgintupelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Hats off to the Candlewood Suites Huntsville for providing a wonderful hotel experience. We spent 5 days at the Candlewood while househunting. It was wonderful to have a full suite, with a kitchen! After being out all day, we did not want to go out to dinner every night. We had brought a few snacks and breakfast foods with us but the Cupboard was wonderful with a hugh selection of "fast" foods for when we decided we were to tired to venture out. We saved a fortune by eating most meals in. (But we did get to eat out at a couple of local restaurants that were great!)

The staff was friendlier and more helpful than most hotels I have experienced. They made sure we had everything we needed to make our room a home away from home, give us great directions and recommendations and answered tons of questions for us regarding the area!

The free washers and dryers made coming home and unpacking so nice, with all of our clothes washed! The exercise room looked great, but honestly after walking all day, we didnt take advantage of it! All in all, it was a wonderful week and we will stay there again when we finalize our purchase and make the move!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Glenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

I had planned on staying for two weeks but the ever present cigarette smoke drove me away after three days. Smoking and non-smoking rooms are next to each other and smoke is ever present in hallways. There is no ventilation to remove smoke from the building so essentially the facility is a fully smoking one; smoke and smell permeate everything. The facility is past its prime and it is begining to show. The mattress needed replacement - its concave shape showed its age. The staff is friendly and pleasant but unable to resolve ventilation issues within the building.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orion571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

The purpose of our trip was for a funeral. We have dogs and this was one of the few pet friendly hotels that we could find. It's so difficult sometimes traveling with pets.

I could imagine there are some people with dogs that ruin it for those of us who have excellent, clean and well behaved pups!

The hotel was having a new roof put on it as of 5th/6th 2010. The rooms were very nice, and my girlfriend said she slept very well... These hotels have mini kitchens inside them, and that was the only dated part. The whole hotel served its purpose very well. It was clean and comfortable.

I felt very safe at the hotel. There were a few good places for your pups to go potty.

The staff was very polite and kind. We had a very good rate.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wingslogo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

I always stay here when in Huntsville. Candlewood and Staybridge are great when traveling with pets, which i do. The rooms are nice enough, outdated TV but it worked okay. No wireless so unless you pack a router, you will be stuck to the desk a lot. They provide a well stocked kitchen, full fridge, mini stove top, microwave and dishwasher. Limited counter space but if alone thats not an issue. The biggest drawbacks are lack of a free breakfast bar and the wired internet. Everything else is great for a 2 week stay, grills outside are an added bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustMyTw0Cents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

I stayed for 2 weeks. I would stay there again. It needs to be updated and have wireless internet instead of hardwire. You can borrow movies, which is nice. The gym in the hotel is too small for the amount of people staying there. They give you a pass to a gym a few miles away. It was too far, but very nice with all the equipment and classes anyone would want.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BoxersRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Huntsville / Research Park Area
2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Huntsville
Sleep Inn & Suites Huntsville
#17 of 53 in Huntsville
261 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#10 of 53 in Huntsville
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Huntsville-South
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#18 of 53 in Huntsville
121 reviews
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Huntsville University Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Huntsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Huntsville

Address: 201 Exchange Pl NW, Huntsville, AL 35806-2367
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Huntsville
#14 Romantic Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range: $88 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Huntsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. Brand new rooms ~ Fully renovated December 2006 At the Candlewood Suites Hotel Huntsville, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Work efficiently at your over-sized executive desk with free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD/VCR player. Borrow your favorite movies from our free DVD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. Have laundry? Wash your clothes in our complimentary washers and dryers. Earn Priority Club points for each qualifying stay.Located only 7 miles from the Von Braun Center, only minutes to Bridge Street Mall, and minutes away from Redstone Arsenal . Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. We are conveniently located off of I-565 in Huntsville, and within a 1/2 mile of the Cummings Research Park, US Space and Rocket Center, and Redstone Arsenal/Marshall Space Flight Center. We are a pet friendly hotel. Pets are allowed with a non-refundable fee based on length of stay. $75 for 1-6 nights and $150 for 7+ nights. One pet allowed per suite and must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Huntsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Candlewood Huntsville
Huntsville Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing