We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy staff, talking in the corridor and outside our window”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Huntsville
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Noisy staff, talking in the corridor and outside our window”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Although the gal that checked us in was very accommodating - we were given a non-smoking room that someone had smoked in prior to our stay - she did put us in a better room, the staff was very noisy in the morning before 8:00 AM. Talking loud to each other while standing right outside our door then the smoking area just happened to be outside our window. At 8:15 AM they were laughing and talking outside our window... unbelievably inconsiderate. The gal that checked me out didn't even ask if we enjoyed our stay. Don't bother staying here. The shower smelled like smoke because the vent was in there and I'm sure was catching smoke from another bathroom and "bleeding" into our bathroom. I won't be back to this location or any other Candlewood Suites. Ugh.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawgintupelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    30
    13
    10
    8
See reviews for
19
14
10
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Hats off to the Candlewood Suites Huntsville for providing a wonderful hotel experience. We spent 5 days at the Candlewood while househunting. It was wonderful to have a full suite, with a kitchen! After being out all day, we did not want to go out to dinner every night. We had brought a few snacks and breakfast foods with us but the Cupboard was wonderful with a hugh selection of "fast" foods for when we decided we were to tired to venture out. We saved a fortune by eating most meals in. (But we did get to eat out at a couple of local restaurants that were great!)

The staff was friendlier and more helpful than most hotels I have experienced. They made sure we had everything we needed to make our room a home away from home, give us great directions and recommendations and answered tons of questions for us regarding the area!

The free washers and dryers made coming home and unpacking so nice, with all of our clothes washed! The exercise room looked great, but honestly after walking all day, we didnt take advantage of it! All in all, it was a wonderful week and we will stay there again when we finalize our purchase and make the move!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Glenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

I had planned on staying for two weeks but the ever present cigarette smoke drove me away after three days. Smoking and non-smoking rooms are next to each other and smoke is ever present in hallways. There is no ventilation to remove smoke from the building so essentially the facility is a fully smoking one; smoke and smell permeate everything. The facility is past its prime and it is begining to show. The mattress needed replacement - its concave shape showed its age. The staff is friendly and pleasant but unable to resolve ventilation issues within the building.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orion571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

The purpose of our trip was for a funeral. We have dogs and this was one of the few pet friendly hotels that we could find. It's so difficult sometimes traveling with pets.

I could imagine there are some people with dogs that ruin it for those of us who have excellent, clean and well behaved pups!

The hotel was having a new roof put on it as of 5th/6th 2010. The rooms were very nice, and my girlfriend said she slept very well... These hotels have mini kitchens inside them, and that was the only dated part. The whole hotel served its purpose very well. It was clean and comfortable.

I felt very safe at the hotel. There were a few good places for your pups to go potty.

The staff was very polite and kind. We had a very good rate.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wingslogo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2009

I always stay here when in Huntsville. Candlewood and Staybridge are great when traveling with pets, which i do. The rooms are nice enough, outdated TV but it worked okay. No wireless so unless you pack a router, you will be stuck to the desk a lot. They provide a well stocked kitchen, full fridge, mini stove top, microwave and dishwasher. Limited counter space but if alone thats not an issue. The biggest drawbacks are lack of a free breakfast bar and the wired internet. Everything else is great for a 2 week stay, grills outside are an added bonus.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustMyTw0Cents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2008

I stayed for 2 weeks. I would stay there again. It needs to be updated and have wireless internet instead of hardwire. You can borrow movies, which is nice. The gym in the hotel is too small for the amount of people staying there. They give you a pass to a gym a few miles away. It was too far, but very nice with all the equipment and classes anyone would want.

  • Liked — kitchenette
  • Disliked — dated appearance
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BoxersRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

I've stayed here several times since they opened. Each time I say I won't go back. The rooms were on the "very good" side when new, but renovations and general sprucing up are very past due. My biggest problem on every visit has been getting the accomodation I request and reserve. They never have the room as requested and never want to take the time to check to see if such a room is available. I was there this Memorial Day Weekend with my husband who had just gotten out of the hospital. We probably should have rented a wheelchair, but was told when I reserved that a room would be available close to an exit. When I went to check in, the front desk person said that one wasn't available and there was nothing at all on the first floor. She claimed she didn't know which rooms were close to exits on the upper floors and I ended up running all over the hotel myself to find a room close to an exit (there was nothing at all available close to the elevator). I finally found a room which was marked non-smoking, but reeked of stale cigarette smoke. I probably should have just cut my losses and found other accomodations at a hotel willing to offer assistance, but we had driven many hours so we just stayed. Not a good decision.

  • Liked — The location was near restaurants we enjoy and convenient to shopping
  • Disliked — Attitude of front desk person, as well as smell of smoke and lack of reserved accomodation
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Basicaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
1.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Huntsville West/Redstone Gateway
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville / Research Park Area
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Huntsville / Research Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Huntsville Marriott at the Space & Rocket Center
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Huntsville
Sleep Inn & Suites Huntsville
#15 of 53 in Huntsville
258 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#6 of 53 in Huntsville
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Huntsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Huntsville

Property: Candlewood Suites Huntsville
Address: 201 Exchange Pl NW, Huntsville, AL 35806-2367
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Huntsville
#14 Romantic Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Huntsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. Brand new rooms ~ Fully renovated December 2006 At the Candlewood Suites Hotel Huntsville, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Work efficiently at your over-sized executive desk with free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD/VCR player. Borrow your favorite movies from our free DVD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. Have laundry? Wash your clothes in our complimentary washers and dryers. Earn Priority Club points for each qualifying stay.Located only 7 miles from the Von Braun Center, only minutes to Bridge Street Mall, and minutes away from Redstone Arsenal . Our setting is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. We are conveniently located off of I-565 in Huntsville, and within a 1/2 mile of the Cummings Research Park, US Space and Rocket Center, and Redstone Arsenal/Marshall Space Flight Center. We are a pet friendly hotel. Pets are allowed with a non-refundable fee based on length of stay. $75 for 1-6 nights and $150 for 7+ nights. One pet allowed per suite and must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Candlewood Suites Huntsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Candlewood Huntsville
Huntsville Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing