We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
eastern US
Level Contributor
109 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“pretty good place”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stayed here in March 2014 while in the area on business.

The room is a bit larger than normal rooms (I think), but it has a different configuration. There is a small sitting area and a small desk. The bathroom is separated into two rooms - one for the toilet, and one for the shower and main sink. That was a little odd, and not sure I would like it for the long term, but it was no big deal. The room had a light, mod look to it, not like the traditional Marriotts. Plenty of electrical outlets, which is definitely appreciated, and it had a fridge and microwave. The room was in good shape and clean. My window gave me a spectacular view of the highway.

Parking and internet are free. The breakfast area had enough room, and the breakfast itself was pretty good, with hot food in addition to the usual pastries and fruit. No complaints there. The staff was friendly enough. The location is close to downtown, but may be a little too far to walk for most folks.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank va_trailrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear va_trailrunner,
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review from your experience at SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while visiting Huntsville AL. We're pleased to know you enjoyed a comfortable stay. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area. Thank you again for your great review.

Sincerely,
Randy Shoe, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    106
    33
    8
    9
See reviews for
108
58
19
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

First, I will say that the hotel itself is very nice. The beds are comfortable. The breakfast is great. Being Marriott Gold Members, we stay at a lot of Marriott Hotels during the course of a year and the SpringHill Suites are our favorite brand. But this particular hotel was VERY noisy (and we always request a quiet room). The hotel is situated right near the main highway and more importantly, very near some train tracks. We were woken up every couple hours by a loud train passing through. In between that time, there were loud sounds from the highway such as ambulance and police sirens. We had earplugs, but to no avail. It was difficult to get a good night's sleep. We mentioned this to the front desk person in the morning who somehow seemed unaware that there were train tracks that close to the hotel though I can't imagine others haven't mentioned this before. It was SO loud.

We've stayed at several different hotels in Huntsville previously and this was our first time at this SpringHill Suites...I'm not sure we would choose to stay here again because of the outside noise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear dbasl,

Thank you for writing a review from your stay with us at SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown. We're happy to have had you as our guest, and we're thankful for the valuable feedback you’ve passed on to us.

I am sorry for the inconveniences you experienced with your room's noise levels. This opportunity has been passed along to our corporate office for immediate attention. We appreciate your review, thank you for your time, and hope you'll have an opportunity to return for a future visit.

Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Randy Shoe, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I came in town for a wedding and stayed 2 nights. I've never had bad experiences with a hotel - at least enough to write a review. Sounds from the pipes behind the walls woke me up in the middle of the night, water pressure and temperature decreased when other guests next door would flush toilet/take a shower, phone for the room was not hooked up, staff appeared to always be walking about joking around, not being helpful to guests. I am not a snooty guest, but I do like the occasional "hey, how are you/can I help you with anything?" To me, this was not a professional environment, especially to be a new hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Michelle,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the on-line review and sharing your experience with the SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown. I certainly appreciate your frustration and disappointment with such unpleasant encounters at our property.

You indicated in your response that you had encountered some room issues. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconveniences that you had to endure. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so we can become the best in the industry.

Please be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future. I truly thank you for your response and helping us better our property and staff.

Sincerely,
Randy Shoe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
277 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed three nights last week at a conference. Hotel was very full but staff stayed on top of everything. Breakfast was very good and always had food. Coffee was great. Gym was clean and equipment worked. Room was well appointed and very clean. No issues and easy to walk to convention center but they also provided a shuttle.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Jon,

Thank for choosing our SpringHill Suites by Marriott Huntsville Downtown for your accommodations and for sharing your review of our property. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast offerings. Your feedback is very valuable and we shared your experiences with our staff.

We look forward to seeing you on your return trips to our great city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, AL
Level Contributor
230 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is a Marriott property. The staff is trained to take care of your needs. They were welcoming and accomodating. The weekend complimentary breakfast buffet was easily on the best I've experienced. Loads of selections and even various hot sauce offerings. The room itself was delightful. A nod to the 60's in the decor, but very comfortable with two bathrooms, spacious seating area and a comfortable queen sized bed. Even comes equipped with a microwave and fridge. Off the breakfast dining area is an outdoor seating space with a fire pit. It has a small bar and a few small conference rooms for meetings. We were in town for a wedding and the venue was just blocks away. The staff was helpful in setting up a later check out time so we didn;t have to wait around all day in our wedding apparrel.

Room Tip: Room on the right side may get more traffic noise than those on the other side of the building. Ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Americana29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing our SpringHill Suites by Marriott Huntsville Downtown for your accommodations and for sharing your review of our property. We're delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast offerings and staff service overall.

Your feedback is valuable and we shared your experiences with our staff. We look forward to seeing you on your return trips to our great city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I just completed a two-night stay in snowy Huntsville, Alabama at the Marriott Springhill Suites downtown, and overall, it was pretty nice. The hotel appears to be a newly constructed building on the edge of downtown. It's located in a strange, open area of downtown, but it seemed safe, and was conveniently located for getting around town and to and from the airport.

The hotel has some nice amenities, including a fitness center, outdoor pool (which looked like a skating rink during my visit!), outdoor patio with fire pit, small bar area, snack / gift shop, ample parking, and a pretty decent breakfast.

The "suites" are well designed and plenty large, with a living room area including a comfortable sofa and kitchenette with mini-fridge and micro, and the sleeping area with desk, retractable glass half-wall and a rotating flat-screen TV in-between. The bathroom is conveniently split into two, with lavatory / sink and a separate stand-up shower and counter sink, each with sliding pocket doors.

Furnishings and design are modern and well done, with plenty of light. The HVAC comes from an in-wall, below-the-window unit, but is relatively quiet and is controlled by an electronic thermostat on the wall.

Everything is still in very good shape, and overall, the room was clean when I arrived (although a couple small pieces of trash hadn't been emptied from one of the trash cans). Two other small complaints here though - the bed was initially comfortable, but ended up being quite soft for my liking (I recognize this is completely a personal preference thing); and the towels were very small and quite thin - really cheap feeling for an otherwise nice room.

The staff were all very friendly, professional and helpful, and the check-in / - out process was smooth and quick.

So, overall, I would recommend this downtown Huntsville hotel - just hope they level-up a couple of the in-room amenities to match the rest of the quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveldogg18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Kevin,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the online review and sharing your experiences with the us. You indicated in your response that the room linen was unsatisfactory. We do not make excuses, and we take these valued feedback responses and correct issues immediately. We have made this a top property and have replaced the bath linen throughout our property. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience you have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest's satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

Please be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future. Please contact me directly when you are ready to make your next reservation and I will ensue your stay is perfect here at the SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown. This opportunity will provide us the feedback and training necessary to become the best in the industry.

Best,

Randy Shoe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Great location in the downtown area with free onsite parking (well lit and safe). Lobby, public areas, sleeping room and fitness center were all very clean, modern and well appointed. Nice outdoor fire pit with seating off the lobby. Front desk staff and housekeeping were cordial and accommodating. Our room was spacious with generous seating and plenty of work space including a mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker and safe. Beds (double/double) were both clean and very comfortable. The split bathroom included a large vanity and excellent shower. Easy access to I565 and the Parkway. Would recommend to fellow travelers needing affordable accommodations in the heart of downtown Huntsville.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Ocline,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the TripAdvisor review. We are delighted that your stay with the SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown was enjoyable and a (5) out of (5).

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Best,
Randy Shoe
randy.shoe@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Huntsville / Research Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#6 of 53 in Huntsville
521 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Westin Huntsville
The Westin Huntsville
#16 of 53 in Huntsville
443 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown

Property: SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown
Address: 745 Constellation Place Dr SW, Huntsville, AL 35801-5951
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huntsville
#6 Business Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Huntsville Downtown Hotel Huntsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing