We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gorgeous view!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burritt on the Mountain

Burritt on the Mountain
Ranked #11 of 69 things to do in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a gorgeous view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Just attended an outside wedding with the reception in the very new hall. It was the perfect setting for a wedding. Traveled with an elderly person and they had a wheelchair we could use. It was easy to motivate around the grounds.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jmbell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    46
    12
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Grandparents Outing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Taking my grandkids to the top of a mountain seemed too simple, but an hour or two out-of-doors is a good thing. When we arrived at Burritt on the Mountain, the sun was shining, the kids were anxious to romp, and I wasn't sure we'd last an hour. But what a treasure! The settlement was so well laid out that the kids roamed and poked their heads into every corner. A Gold Treasure Hunt program had just started a few weeks before, commemorating the Alabama Gold Rush, and the little ones read the clues and searched for golden treasure with great enthusiasm. Of course, the animals, music, docents in period costume, and the setting were all treasures as well. FOUR HOURS later, we left very happy.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“History on the Mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

With venues for Social Functions and Gatherings, its also a Living Museum of the History of Huntsville and the State.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MadTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
193 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Interesting bit of history”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Interesting collection of log cabins dating back to the early 1800's. Worth visiting if you are curious as to how folks lived in rural areas during the 19th century. Nice views from the property if the weather is clear. The Doctor's house from the 1930's has few furnishings, and is too small to call it a mansion. That the Doc took great pride in driving a right-hand drive 1949 DeSoto indicates that he had "unique" taste in automobiles.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We enjoyed the visit and the view very much. Some of the furniture was designed in a way that was different from any other items of furniture that I have ever seen. The view off the mtn. was also beautiful. The lady in the house told us some history that was interesting and we enjoyed that as well.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bama6gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burritt on the Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Burritt on the Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing