We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My first taste of Mexican Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Palacio

El Palacio
Ranked #319 of 594 Restaurants in Huntsville
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Guntersville, Alabama
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“My first taste of Mexican Food”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This is the restaurant my friends took me to years ago when I said I had never had Mexican food. Over the years it has become a favorite.

Helpful?
1 Thank BamaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    24
    4
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
alabama
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Buffet”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Excellent beans and the Chile Relleno is great. Affordable lunch buffet.

Helpful?
Thank semusical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The refried beans are great...but might hurt you”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

The food is mediocre but the refried beans are amazing. That is, until you cannot leave the bathroom one hour later. Seriously, they will tear your stomach up. No me gusta.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank KCBandBAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
396 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 922 helpful votes
“Maybe it's not authentic but we like it a lot.”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

The beef enchiladas, cheese enchiladas, refried beans and tostadas from the buffet are excellent. The chips are also excellent but I have to agree the salsa leaves a bit to be desired. My main issue with the sauce is it's inconsistency in flavor and heat. One day the hot sauce is very bland, another it's just right and yet another it is a little too hot. The mild sauce is terrible any time.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coastermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Like a faithful old friend”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

El Palacio is a Huntsville institution.
Their food is exactly how I remember it tasting when I was10.... GOOD!
Due to the influx of actual Mexicans into the Huntsville area, there are many choices for authentic Mexican food now and most are pretty good. El Palacio serves what I like to call "Amerexican", ie. Mexican food for the American palate. And they know how it's done!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank smmarkfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Palacio also viewed

 

Been to El Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing